Connect with us


Winter Park commission race heads for runoff

Nick Fouraker was elected mayor of Belle Isle.

Political newcomer Todd Weaver edged out incumbent Winter Park City Commissioner Pete Weldon for the most votes Tuesday but could not win outright, forcing the two into a runoff from the three-way election in that city.

Weaver, an engineer with a fairly extensive record of civic involvement, and Weldon, a businessman seeking his second term, will head to a runoff election on April 9 for the Winter Park District 4 seat on the city commission.

Unofficial results from Tuesday’s municipal election had Weaver draw 2,555 votes, Weldon 2,362 votes, and Barbara Chandler 424 votes in the only contested race in the city. Earlier Carolyn Cooper had won the Winter Park district 3 seat because she was unopposed.

In another contested Central Florida election Tuesday, Belle Isle elected a new mayor, with Nick Fouraker taking 56 percent of the vote in a three-way contest, in unofficial results. The results show Fouraker drew 776 votes, Holly Bobrowski 423, or 31 percent, and Rick Miller 174, or 13 percent. Fouraker succeeds Lydia Pisano as mayor.

Karl Shuck was elected to the District 3 city council seat in Belle Isle, unofficially defeating Ben Bateman by 55 percent to 44 percent. Earlier, Anthony Carugno and Mike Simms won re-elections in the District 2 and 4 seats respectively, as they were unopposed.

Written By

Scott Powers is an Orlando-based political journalist with 30+ years’ experience, mostly at newspapers such as the Orlando Sentinel and the Columbus Dispatch. He covers local, state and federal politics and space news across much of Central Florida. His career earned numerous journalism awards for stories ranging from the Space Shuttle Columbia disaster to presidential elections to misplaced nuclear waste. He and his wife Connie have three grown children. Besides them, he’s into mystery and suspense books and movies, rock, blues, basketball, baseball, writing unpublished novels, and being amused. Email him at

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Ron DeSantis pulls back nearly 170 Rick Scott appointments


Nikki Fried may soon target stores selling CBD oil


Joe Henderson: WMNF listeners let station know how they feel about Rob Lorei


Lenny Curry defends using uniformed cops in political ads


Sign up for Sunburn

Receive our team's agenda-setting morning read of what's hot in Florida politics. Delivered straight to your inbox Monday through Friday.

Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Jim Rosica, A.G. Gancarski, Joe Henderson, Janelle Irwin, Dan McAuliffe, Michael Moline, Jacob Ogles, Scott Powers, Bob Sparks, Andrew Wilson.
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704

Sign up for Sunburn

Receive our team's agenda-setting morning read of what's hot in Florida politics. Delivered straight to your inbox Monday through Friday.