Carlos Lopez-Cantera endorsed by 9 more state House Republicans


Florida Lt. Gov. Carlos Lopez-Cantera announced Thursday morning endorsements from nine state House Republicans in his race for the GOP nomination for U.S. Senate.

The list includes Dennis Baxley from Ocala, Halsey Besmears from Monticello, Matt Caldwell from Monticello, Brad Drake from DeFuniak Springs, Clay Ingram from Pensacola, MaryLynn Magar from Hobe Sound, Keith Perry from Gainesville, Elizabeth Porter from Lake City, and Jimmie T. Smith from Lecanto are all now backing Lopez-Cantera.

“I continue to be humbled by the support from my colleagues from across the state. Here in Florida, we know that the safety and security of our families is of the utmost importance, but if we continue business as usual in Washington, D.C., we risk losing the very essence of what made the United States of America the greatest country in the history of the world. I thank my friends for their support, and I am looking forward to continuing to work with them as we all make sure Florida’s proven success is represented in the U.S. Senate,” said Lopez-Cantera, who was in the Florida House of Representatives from 2004-2012.

The Lieutenant Governor has received by far the most endorsements of Republicans in the Legislature. He’s also received the backing of Attorney General Pam Bondi.

Lopez-Cantera is running against David Jolly, Ron DeSantis, and Todd Wilcox in the race for the Republican nomination for U.S. Senate.

Mitch Perry

Mitch Perry has been a reporter with Extensive Enterprises since November of 2014. Previously, he served five years as political editor of the alternative newsweekly Creative Loafing. Mitch also was assistant news director with WMNF 88.5 FM in Tampa from 2000-2009, and currently hosts MidPoint, a weekly talk show, on WMNF on Thursday afternoons. He began his reporting career at KPFA radio in Berkeley and is a San Francisco native who has lived in Tampa since 2000. Mitch can be reached at [email protected]


Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch @PeterSchorschFL

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Jason Delgado, Renzo Downey, Daniel Figueroa, A.G. Gancarski, Anne Geggis, Kelly Hayes, Joe Henderson, Ryan Nicol, Jacob Ogles, Scott Powers, Gray Rohrer, Jesse Scheckner, Christine Sexton, Andrew Wilson, Mike Wright, and Tristan Wood.

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @PeterSchorschFL
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704

Sign up for Sunburn