Independent business group honors Jeff Brandes as ‘Guardian of Small Business’

Bill Herrle presents Senator Brandes with NFIB Guardian of Small Business Award

Small-business group NFIB/Florida named St. Petersburg Republican Sen. Jeff Brandes a “Guardian of Small Business” during a luncheon Wednesday.

“As a small-business owner, I have seen firsthand the impact of burdensome government regulations,” Brandes said after accepting the award. “Small businesses are the backbone of our community. We should cut taxes and eliminate unnecessary red tape always and everywhere to keep growing more jobs for Floridians.”

The Guardian of Small Business award is the National Federation of Independent Businesses’ top honor for lawmakers and is awarded yearly to the legislator whose work best reflects the goals of NFIB and the small-business community.

“Sen. Brandes’ support of small business issues makes him one of our true allies in the Senate,” NFIB Florida Executive Director Bill Herrle said. “Sen. Brandes’ leadership on pro-business legislation, including his work on reforms to civil forfeiture laws, and his opposition to expanding Obamacare in Florida have proven his dedication to small business owners and NFIB members, and we’re proud to recognize him for championing these causes.”

Brandes has a 96 percent voting record with NFIB/Florida since 2010, when he first entered the legislature as a member of the House.

Drew Wilson

Drew Wilson covers legislative campaigns and fundraising for Florida Politics. He is a former editor at The Independent Florida Alligator and business correspondent at The Hollywood Reporter. Wilson, a University of Florida alumnus, covered the state economy and Legislature for LobbyTools and The Florida Current prior to joining Florida Politics.


Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch @PeterSchorschFL

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Jason Delgado, Renzo Downey, Daniel Figueroa, A.G. Gancarski, Anne Geggis, Kelly Hayes, Joe Henderson, Ryan Nicol, Jacob Ogles, Scott Powers, Gray Rohrer, Jesse Scheckner, Christine Sexton, Andrew Wilson, Mike Wright, and Tristan Wood.

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @PeterSchorschFL
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704

Sign up for Sunburn