Mary McLeod Bethune top choice to replace Confederate Army general statue

Screen Shot 2016-06-18 at 11.24.01 AM

Dr. Mary McLeod Bethune, founder of what is now Bethune-Cookman University in Daytona Beach, is the top public choice to replace a statue of a Confederate army general in the U.S. Capitol.

The Department of State, which includes the Great Floridians Program, released the list of public recommendations Saturday after a public records request from

Bethune, an educator and civil-rights activist, lived 1875-1955. She received 1,233 votes, nearly 800 more than the No. 2 pick, James Weldon Johnson. He was a writer-activist and the first black admitted to the Florida Bar.

In all, 129 Floridians received votes to be honored with a new statue in the Capitol’s National Statuary Hall. State lawmakers will make the final decision.

Of those, 74 received only one vote, including famed singer-songwriter Ray Charles, who grew up in Greenville, Madison County.


Another single-vote-getter was naturalist and artist John James Audubon, who spent time in the state in 1831 working on illustrations for a volume of his great work, Birds of America.

It’s likely, however, Audubon won’t meet the criteria of having been a citizen of the state who is dead for more than 10 years. The rules also include no “fictional characters, animals, plants, structures, or other non-human entities or beings.”

The results will be considered by a special committee of the Great Floridians Program, which will select three finalists to pass along to the Legislature. The panel meets 9 a.m. next Wednesday, June 22, at the R.A. Gray Building in Tallahassee.

“In addition to considering these results, members of the committee may also recommend individuals for consideration that have not been previously submitted,” said Meredith Beatrice, the department’s spokeswoman.

The process is a result of a measure signed into law this year by Gov. Rick Scott.

The move to take down a statue of Confederate Army Gen. Edmund Kirby Smith came after renewed debate about Confederate symbols, including the battle flag ubiquitous in the South.

A gunman charged with killing nine black churchgoers in Charleston, South Carolina, last year had photographed himself holding the flag and made clear he was motivated by racism.

The Florida Senate this year also changed its official seal to remove a representation of a Confederate flag.

Each state has two statues on display in the Capitol. Florida’s other statue, of scientist-inventor Dr. John Gorrie of Apalachicola, a pivotal figure in the invention of air conditioning, will remain.

The top five picks from the public are:

1) Dr. Mary McLeod Bethune, 1,233 votes.

2) James Weldon Johnson, 447 votes.

3) George Washington Jenkins Jr., 417 votes (founder of the Publix grocery store chain in 1930, based in Lakeland).

4) Marjory Stoneman Douglas, 261 votes (author and environmentalist, best known for 1947 work “The Everglades: River of Grass,” defender of the environment).

5) Harry T. Moore, 189 votes (civil-rights activist in Central Florida, active in the NAACP. He and his wife Harriette were killed by a bomb placed underneath their home in Mims, Brevard County).

The complete list is here.

Jim Rosica

Jim Rosica is the Tallahassee-based Senior Editor for Florida Politics. He previously was the Tampa Tribune’s statehouse reporter. Before that, he covered three legislative sessions in Florida for The Associated Press. Jim graduated from law school in 2009 after spending nearly a decade covering courts for the Tallahassee Democrat, including reporting on the 2000 presidential recount. He can be reached at [email protected]


  • Mike Taylor

    June 19, 2016 at 12:57 pm

    CONFEDERATE lives matter!!!!

  • Luanne barnett

    June 19, 2016 at 1:40 pm

    I feel the results are racitst and bias many people that deserve recognizing,as Dale Earnhart,

  • David Dolcater

    June 20, 2016 at 1:49 pm

    No matter how many statues you remove, your’re still black!

Comments are closed.


Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Jason Delgado, Renzo Downey, Rick Flagg, A.G. Gancarski, Anne Geggis, Joe Henderson, Janelle Irwin, Ryan Nicol, Jacob Ogles, Jesse Scheckner, Scott Powers, Andrew Wilson, and Kelly Hayes.

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @PeterSchorschFL
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704

Sign up for Sunburn