Nearly a dozen South Florida House members appear to be re-elected without opposition
The week-long civics lesson includes a speech from Gov. DeSantis.

Florida State Capitol Building

More than a dozen members of the Florida House are heading back Tallahassee.

As of 5 p.m., state records show nearly a dozen South Florida lawmakers appeared to win their elections Friday when they failed to draw an opponent by the time qualifying period. All of the candidates are incumbents.

In House District 94, Bobby DuBose is returning to the Florida House. The Fort Lauderdale Democrat was first elected to the Florida House in 2014.

Kristin Jacobs appears to have won her race in House District 96. The Coconut Creek Democrat was first elected in 2014. Before serving in the Florida House, Jacobs served as the mayor of the Broward County Commission from 2004 until 2005, and again in 2012 and 2013.

Jared Moskowitz, Katie Edwards, Evan Jenne, Joe Geller, Shevrin Jones, and Sharon Pritchett are also returning. Preliminary state records show none of them garnered an opponent this election cycle.

Moskowitz, a Coral Springs Democrat, was first elected to the Florida House in 2012. He’ll return for his third term in House District 97.

Edwards, a Plantation Democrat, was re-elected in House District 98; while Jenne, a Dania Beach Democrat, was re-elected in House District 99. Edwards was first elected in 2012, Jenne in 2014.

Geller, an Aventura Democrat, was re-elected in House District 100. He was first elected to the House in 2014.

Jones will head back to Tallahassee to represent House District 101. The West Park Democrat was first elected in 2012, and served as the Democratic Deputy Whip from 2014 until 2016.

Pritchett will continue representing House District 102. The Miami Gardens Democrat was first elected to the Florida House in 2012.

In nearby Miami-Dade County, seven lawmakers are heading back to the Florida House.

Miami Democrat Cynthia Stafford was re-elected in House District 109. She was first elected in 2010.

Jose Oliva also appears to be headed back to the House. The Miami Lakes Republican was first elected to the Florida House in June 2011. He is believed to be in line for the House speakership in the coming years.

Also headed back is Kionne McGhee. The Miami Democrat is poised to win re-election in House District 117. He was first elected in 2012.

Candidates had until noon Friday to qualify to be on the ballot. State elections officials said they expect all of the candidate qualifying information to be finalized by Friday evening.


Jenna Buzzacco-Foerster

One comment

  • Richard Crooks

    June 24, 2016 at 2:58 pm

    This says one thing to me, nobody cares about government anymore because none are for WE THE PEOPLE

Comments are closed.


Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch @PeterSchorschFL

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Renzo Downey, Roseanne Dunkelberger, A.G. Gancarski, Anne Geggis, Kelly Hayes, Joe Henderson, Ryan Nicol, Jacob Ogles, Scott Powers, Gray Rohrer, Aimee Sachs, Jesse Scheckner, Christine Sexton, Andrew Wilson, Wes Wolfe, and Mike Wright.

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @PeterSchorschFL
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704

Sign up for Sunburn