Constitutional review panel announces committee assignments

Constitution Revision Commission

The state’s Constitution Revision Commission announced committee assignments, consisting of “10 standing substantive committees and two standing procedural committees,” it said in a Friday news release.

“Establishing committees for the CRC means we can move forward on developing proposals that will benefit Florida families, businesses and students,” Chairman Carlos Beruff said in a statement.

“Each commissioner brings a unique set of talents and experience to this process,” he added. “Committee assignments are based on preferences expressed by individual commissioners while also ensuring each committee consists of a group with diverse backgrounds and complementary strengths.”

The commission, which already has held several public hearings, is empaneled every 20 years to go over the state constitution and suggest amendments that go directly on a statewide ballot. Voters still must OK any changes with 60 percent approval.

Here are the standing substantive committees:

Bonding and Investments (Article VII): Chair, Chris Smith, Vice Chair, Jose “Pepe” Armas; Don Gaetz, Frank Kruppenbacher, Rich Newsome, Darryl Rouson, Bob Solari. 

Declaration of Rights (Article I): Chair, Lisa Carlton, Vice Chair, John Stemberger; Erika Donalds, Emery Gainey, Marva Johnson, Arthenia Joyner, Gary Lester. 

Education (Article IX): Chair, Marva Johnson, Vice Chair, Nicole Washington; Erika Donalds, Tom Grady, Darlene Jordan, Belinda Keiser, Patricia Levesque, Chris Sprowls, Pam Stewart.

Ethics and Elections (Article VI, part of Article II): Chair, Hank Coxe, Vice Chair, Frank Kruppenbacher; Don Gaetz, Brecht Heuchan, Arthenia Joyner, Rich Newsome, Sherry Plymale, Bill Schifino, Chris Smith.

Executive (Article IV): Chair, Darlene Jordan, Vice Chair, Chris Sprowls; Pam Bondi, Jose Felix Diaz, Don Gaetz, Belinda Keiser, Chris Nocco, Pam Stewart, Jacqui Thurlow-Lippisch.

Finance and Taxation (Article VII): Chair, Fred Karlinsky, Vice Chair, Tom Grady; Jose “Pepe” Armas, Jeanette Nuñez, Darryl Rouson, Chris Smith, Nicole Washington.

General Provisions (Articles II, X, XI, and XII): Chair, Jacqui Thurlow-Lippisch, Vice Chair, Emery Gainey; Brecht Heuchan, Fred Karlinsky, Gary Lester, Jeanette Nuñez, Sherry Plymale.

Judicial (Article V): Chair, Bill Schifino, Vice Chair, Anna Marie Hernandez Gamez; Pam Bondi, Tim Cerio, Hank Coxe, Arthenia Joyner, Tom Lee, Roberto Martinez, Carolyn Timmann.

Legislative (Article III): Chair, Jose Felix Diaz, Vice Chair, Belinda Keiser; Jose “Pepe” Armas, Lisa Carlton, Tom Lee, Patricia Levesque, Darryl Rouson.

Local Government (Article VIII): Chair, Erika Donalds, Vice Chair, Chris Nocco; Emery Gainey, Bob Solari, John Stemberger, Carolyn Timmann, Nicole Washington.

Here are the standing procedural committees:

Rules and Administration: Chair, Tim Cerio, Vice Chair, Sherry Plymale; Lisa Carlton, Hank Coxe, Jose Felix Diaz, Erika Donalds, Marva Johnson, Fred Karlinsky, Carolyn Timmann.

Style and Drafting: Chair, Brecht Heuchan, Vice Chair, Carolyn Timmann; Tim Cerio, Anna Marie Hernandez Gamez, Tom Grady, Darlene Jordan, Frank Kruppenbacher, Gary Lester, Roberto Martinez, Jeanette Nuñez, Chris Sprowls.

Grady, an attorney and former state representative, was named Thursday by Gov. Rick Scott to take the place of Jimmy Patronis on the commission. Patronis stepped down from his seat there and on the Public Service Commission to become the state’s new Chief Financial Officer.

Last updated on July 14, 2017

Staff Reports

One comment

Comments are closed.


Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch @PeterSchorschFL

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Jason Delgado, Renzo Downey, Daniel Figueroa, A.G. Gancarski, Anne Geggis, Kelly Hayes, Joe Henderson, Ryan Nicol, Jacob Ogles, Scott Powers, Gray Rohrer, Jesse Scheckner, Christine Sexton, Andrew Wilson, Mike Wright, and Tristan Wood.

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @PeterSchorschFL
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704

Sign up for Sunburn