More former lawmakers apply to replace Jimmy Patronis on PSC

Evers Murzin Workman

As of last Friday’s deadline, three more former lawmakers applied for the now-empty seat on the Public Service Commission vacated when Jimmy Patronis stepped down to become the state’s new CFO.

Applying for the seat were former state Sen. Greg Evers, a Baker (Okaloosa County) Republican; former state Rep. Dave Murzin, a Pensacola Republican; and former state Rep. Ritch Workman, a Melbourne Republican, according to a list released late Friday by the Public Service Commission Nominating Council.

Murzin, who served 2002-10, also was Evers’ chief legislative assistant in 2013-16, according to his résumé. Evers ran unsuccessfully for Congress last year, losing the GOP primary to Matt Gaetz.

Workman ran for state Senate, losing that GOP primary to Debbie Mayfield in one of the nastiest races of the year.

They join former state Comptroller Bob Milligan and former Public Service Commissioner Kenneth Littlefield among the now 23 applicants for the opening, which pays $131,036 a year.

The appointment will be made by Gov. Rick Scott. The five-member commission regulates the state’s investor-owned utilities.

Other legislators in the mix include former state Rep. Rich Glorioso, a Plant City Republican and a retired U.S. Air Force colonel; and current state Rep. Tom Goodsona Brevard County Republican.

Littlefield also served in the Legislature in the early 2000s, chairing the House Utilities & Telecommunications committee. He was put on the PSC by former Gov. Jeb Bush in 2006, then replaced by then-Gov. Charlie Crist the next year.

Jim Rosica

Jim Rosica is the Tallahassee-based Senior Editor for Florida Politics. He previously was the Tampa Tribune’s statehouse reporter. Before that, he covered three legislative sessions in Florida for The Associated Press. Jim graduated from law school in 2009 after spending nearly a decade covering courts for the Tallahassee Democrat, including reporting on the 2000 presidential recount. He can be reached at [email protected].


Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch @PeterSchorschFL

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Drew Dixon, Roseanne Dunkelberger, A.G. Gancarski, Anne Geggis, Ryan Nicol, Jacob Ogles, Cole Pepper, Gray Rohrer, Jesse Scheckner, Christine Sexton, Drew Wilson, and Mike Wright.

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @PeterSchorschFL
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704

Sign up for Sunburn