Americans for Prosperity criticizes two Stephanie Murphy and Debbie Wasserman Schultz for spending bill vote


Americans for Prosperity-Florida on Thursday launched a three-pronged attack on Democratic U.S. Reps. Stephanie Murphy and Debbie Wasserman Schultz for voting in favor of a $1.3 billion spending plan in March.

“Both Representatives Murphy and Wasserman Schultz once touted the need for reigning in our enormous deficits, but their vote for this enormous spending bill showed their calls for fiscal prudence were really a façade,” said AFP-FL director Chris Hudson.

”Our country faces a large and growing fiscal problem, but this does not mean lawmakers should try to spend its way out of Washington’s dysfunction. We urge Floridians to contact Representatives Murphy and Wasserman Schultz and tell them to be better stewards of our taxpayer dollars and end the empty promises of restoring fiscal sanity in Washington.”

The conservative group said the “Stop Overspending” campaign, or SOS, will feature mailers, print advertisements and a six-figure radio ad buy attacking the congresswomen in their home districts.

“Representative Stephanie Murphy voted for a trillion-dollar spending bill,” the front of one of the mailers reads. The flipside reads, “We have a spending problem.”

The effort will feature a video and website,, urging visitors to lawmakers to “control Washington’s spending addiction.”

Though AFP said the campaign would “hold Republicans and Democrats accountable for their records on wasteful spending and thank champions who have stood up for taxpayers” it announced no plans to run ads against Florida Republican U.S. Reps. Gus Bilirakis, Vern Buchanan, Mario Diaz-Balart, Neal Dunn, Francis Rooney or John Rutherford, all of whom voted in favor of the spending plan.

Drew Wilson

Drew Wilson covers legislative campaigns and fundraising for Florida Politics. He is a former editor at The Independent Florida Alligator and business correspondent at The Hollywood Reporter. Wilson, a University of Florida alumnus, covered the state economy and Legislature for LobbyTools and The Florida Current prior to joining Florida Politics.


Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch @PeterSchorschFL

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Drew Dixon, Roseanne Dunkelberger, A.G. Gancarski, Anne Geggis, Ryan Nicol, Jacob Ogles, Cole Pepper, Gray Rohrer, Jesse Scheckner, Christine Sexton, Drew Wilson, and Mike Wright.

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @PeterSchorschFL
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704