Conservative school board members launch committee backing term limits amendment
Erika Donalds.

Erika Donalds

A trio of school board members on Monday announced the launch of a new political committee backing Amendment 8, which would impose term limits on county school board seats among other changes to the K-12 education system.

The committee, “8isGREAT,” is headed up by Collier County School Board Member Erika Donalds, who sponsored the proposal in her role as a member of the Constitution Revision Commission. She’s joined by Indian River County School Board Chairman Shawn Frost and Duval County School Board Member Scott Shine, who will serve as executive board members.

“Amendment 8 is Great for Florida’s future, and we are committed to communicating that message to all Floridians. As school board members, we are convinced that fresh ideas and diverse opportunities for innovation are essential to creating a system of public education that works for every student,” Donalds said. “When it comes to the policy necessary to deliver that change, Amendment 8 is Great!”

The press release announcing the committee said 8isGREAT “fundraisers are being planned in major Florida cities for the months of July and August, and a fully modern campaign is in the works.”

Amendment 8 would set term limits for school board members at eight consecutive years, the same duration imposed on lawmakers and other state-level offices. It would also require the Legislature to “provide for the promotion of civic literacy in public schools.”

The proposal is one of 13 amendments, including eight CRC proposals, slated to go before Florida voters during the Nov. 6 general election. Ballot amendments need at least 60 percent support from voters in order to make it into the Florida Constitution.

Drew Wilson

Drew Wilson covers legislative campaigns and fundraising for Florida Politics. He is a former editor at The Independent Florida Alligator and business correspondent at The Hollywood Reporter. Wilson, a University of Florida alumnus, covered the state economy and Legislature for LobbyTools and The Florida Current prior to joining Florida Politics.


Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch @PeterSchorschFL

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Roseanne Dunkelberger, A.G. Gancarski, Anne Geggis, Ryan Nicol, Jacob Ogles, Cole Pepper, Gray Rohrer, Jesse Scheckner, Christine Sexton, Drew Wilson, and Mike Wright.

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @PeterSchorschFL
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704

Sign up for Sunburn