Ron DeSantis, Cabinet eye new clemency coordinator
Cabinet in Israel.

Cabinet 2 (Large)
Michelle Whitworth is the only applicant primed for an interview.

Michelle Whitworth, who has been an investigator supervisor the past six years for the state Commission on Offender Review, will be the only applicant interviewed Tuesday to become clemency coordinator for Gov. Ron DeSantis and members of the Florida Cabinet.

DeSantis and at least two members of the Cabinet — made up of Agriculture Commissioner Nikki Fried, Attorney General Ashley Moody and Chief Financial Officer Jimmy Patronis — must approve the coordinator, who oversees an office that handles issues involving parole-eligible inmates and ex-offenders.

The state advertised the position as paying between $35,518 and $64,500 a year. Whitworth is paid $58,065 in her current position.

At a meeting of Cabinet aides last week, Whitworth was the only candidate put forward by each office to replace longtime coordinator Julie McCall, who has retired.

Whitworth has been with the Commission on Offender Review since 2006, serving initially as an investigator and from 2007 to 2013 as a capital-punishment research specialist. A criminology and criminal-justice major who attended Florida State University, Whitworth served as a probation officer, management review specialist and senior classification officer with the Department of Corrections before moving to the Commission on Offender Review.

News Service Of Florida

The News Service of Florida provides journalists, lobbyists, government officials and other civic leaders with comprehensive, objective information about the activities of state government year-round.


Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Jason Delgado, Drew Dixon, Renzo Downey, Rick Flagg, A.G. Gancarski, Joe Henderson, Janelle Irwin, Ryan Nicol, Jacob Ogles, Scott Powers, Andrew Wilson, and Kelly Hayes.

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @PeterSchorschFL
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704