Ten Central Florida Democratic lawmakers line up behind Buddy Dyer

Buddy Dyer
All Central Florida Democrats except Geraldine Thompson

Orlando Mayor Buddy Dyer‘s reelection campaign announced it has secured endorsements from 10 Democratic Central Florida lawmakers.

The list includes state Sens. Randolph Bracy of Oakland, Victor Torres of Orlando, and Linda Stewart of Orlando; and state Reps. Bruce Antone of Orlando, Kamia Brown of Ocoee, John Cortes of Kissimmee, Joy Goff-Marcil of Maitland, Anna Eskamani of Orlando, Amy Mercado of Orlando, and Carlos Guillermo Smith of Orlando.

The endorsements come in Dyer’s 2019 contest with Orlando City Commissioner Sam Ings, Aretha Simons, and Shantele Bennett.

The election is in November. Dyer is seeking a sixth election as mayor and a fifth full term.

The election is officially non-partisan. However, Dyer’s team announced no endorsements from any of the Republicans in the Florida Legislature. There are no Republicans running for Orlando Mayor.

The campaign did not include Democratic state Rep. Geraldine Thompson of Windermere among the endorsements.

Among the comments released with the endorsements:

Torres stated in the news release: “The City of Orlando has seen great growth and improvements under Mayor Dyer’s leadership. Lake Nona is now home to Medical City, MCO is one of the highest-rated U.S. airports of its size, we are the most sustainable city in the Southeast, and we lead in inclusion and diversity. It is my pleasure and honor to endorse Mayor Dyer for his re-election as Orlando Mayor.”

Antone stated: “I have a 27-year friendship and working relationship with Mayor Dyer in my capacity as a state Representative and as his chief legislative aide for eight years when he served in the Florida Senate. The development of Downtown Orlando, Lake Nona, SunRail, the Amway Center, the Dr. Phillips Performing Arts Center and Camping World Stadium are testaments to his ability to make his vision for Orlando’s future a reality.”

Eskamani stated: “As the state House Representative who serves the city of Orlando, it has been an honor to work alongside Mayor Dyer on issues like environmental sustainability and LGBTQ equality. I feel confident that as we navigate some of our region’s biggest challenges — like affordable housing and public transportation — Mayor Dyer will continue to be the best person for the job. I am proud to endorse Mayor Dyer, and look forward to continuing to serve Orlandoans alongside him.”

Goff-Marcil stated:  “As a Florida Representative and former Maitland City Councilwoman and Vice Mayor, I have advocated to improve our neighborhoods and to protect our environment. Under Mayor Dyer’s leadership, Orlando has transformed into a vibrant city with safe neighborhoods, and now leads as the most sustainable city in the Southeast. It is my pleasure to endorse Mayor Dyer for reelection as Orlando Mayor.”

Mercado stated: “It is my honor to endorse Mayor Dyer for his re-election. Mayor Dyer has made many positive decisions during his tenure, including the decision to surround himself with culturally diverse people in City Hall, so that the city’s employees are representative of Orlando’s residents. A prime example of Mayor Dyer’s commitment to diversity was his appointment of Orlando’s first Puerto Rican Chief of Police, Chief Rolon.”

Scott Powers

Scott Powers is an Orlando-based political journalist with 30+ years’ experience, mostly at newspapers such as the Orlando Sentinel and the Columbus Dispatch. He covers local, state and federal politics and space news across much of Central Florida. His career earned numerous journalism awards for stories ranging from the Space Shuttle Columbia disaster to presidential elections to misplaced nuclear waste. He and his wife Connie have three grown children. Besides them, he’s into mystery and suspense books and movies, rock, blues, basketball, baseball, writing unpublished novels, and being amused. Email him at [email protected].


Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch @PeterSchorschFL

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Drew Dixon, Roseanne Dunkelberger, A.G. Gancarski, Anne Geggis, Ryan Nicol, Jacob Ogles, Cole Pepper, Gray Rohrer, Jesse Scheckner, Christine Sexton, Drew Wilson, and Mike Wright.

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @PeterSchorschFL
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704

Sign up for Sunburn