Gavin Rollins enters race for CD 3

Florida State flag
Rollins is the fourth GOP candidate to enter the race.

Another Republican has entered the race to succeed U.S. Rep. Ted Yoho in Florida’s 3rd Congressional District.

Clay County Commissioner Gavin Rollins announced his campaign Monday, joining a field that already includes Judson Sapp, Amy Pope Wells and former Yoho staffer Kat Cammack.

Rollins is an American history teacher and Captain in the Florida National Guard. He is a veteran of the Global War on Terror, having served as a senior intelligence officer in a combat zone in East Africa.

“I’m running for congress because the foundation of our nation is under attack from misguided socialists, career politicians, and Hollywood liberals determined to chip away at our fundamental rights,” he said.

“I’ve fought for our country’s future in a combat zone thousands of miles away and in classrooms right here at home, and I’ll fight alongside President [Donald] Trump to protect the religious liberty, economic freedom and the right to bear arms of each and every hardworking Floridian.”

CD 3 became an open seat following Yoho’s announcement that he would not run for a fifth term.

Thus far, Sapp has led the pack in fundraising and endorsements, including the support of two Republican members of Florida’s congressional delegation.

Still, the Republican field is wide open. An early poll of the race showed none of the current candidates had runaway support among the district’s voters.

CD 3 covers Alachua, Clay, Putnam, Bradford and Union counties with parts of Marion also included. It is a safe Republican district. Yoho won reelection to the seat in 2018 by 15 points.

Drew Wilson

Drew Wilson covers legislative campaigns and fundraising for Florida Politics. He is a former editor at The Independent Florida Alligator and business correspondent at The Hollywood Reporter. Wilson, a University of Florida alumnus, covered the state economy and Legislature for LobbyTools and The Florida Current prior to joining Florida Politics.


Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch @PeterSchorschFL

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Drew Dixon, Roseanne Dunkelberger, A.G. Gancarski, Anne Geggis, Ryan Nicol, Jacob Ogles, Cole Pepper, Gray Rohrer, Jesse Scheckner, Christine Sexton, Drew Wilson, and Mike Wright.

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @PeterSchorschFL
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704