Gwen Myers re-elected without opposition to Hillsborough County Commission

Gwen Myers
Myers was first elected to the seat in 2020 following the retirement of former Commission Chair Les Miller.

Hillsborough County Commissioner Gwen Myers will continue to serve the District 3 seat after qualifying without opposition Friday.

Myers, a Tampa Democrat, was first elected to the seat in a Special Election in 2020 following the retirement of former Commission Chair Les Miller, who had sat on the Board since 2010. Miller had been a public servant in Florida for more than 50 years.

Despite Myers facing an easy re-election as an unopposed incumbent, her initial election was not so smooth. In 2020, she fought her way to the Democratic nomination in a crowded, five-candidate Primary. After winning the nomination, she earned support from all previous opponents. It was also her first time running in the political sphere.

Although Myers’ GOP opponent from 2020, Maura Cruz Lanz, had pre-filed candidacy papers in October 2021, she withdrew from the race less than a week after, and Myers remained unopposed since.

Myers’ campaign raised $100,109 since she entered the race, and she’s only spent $1,054 of that amount, leaving her with cash for her next run.

The district includes downtown Tampa, Ybor City, West Tampa and parts of Seminole Heights, some of the most liberal parts of the county.

Myers is a civic activist and retired Hillsborough County official. She previously served on Tampa Mayor Jane Castor’s African American Advisory Council as well as on the Hillsborough County Health Care Advisory Board and the Corporation to Develop Communities of Tampa, among others.

Kelly Hayes

Kelly Hayes studied journalism and political science at the University of Florida. Kelly was born and raised in Tampa Bay. A recent graduate, she enjoys government and legal reporting. She has experience covering the Florida Legislature as well as local government, and is a proud Alligator alum. You can reach Kelly at [email protected].

One comment

  • Sherri Southwell

    June 17, 2022 at 5:56 pm

    Sad! We get the government we deserve and, since no Republicans stood up to take Myers seat, south county will have to deal with more ineptitude on our county commission 😞

Comments are closed.


Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch @PeterSchorschFL

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Drew Dixon, Roseanne Dunkelberger, A.G. Gancarski, Anne Geggis, Ryan Nicol, Jacob Ogles, Cole Pepper, Gray Rohrer, Jesse Scheckner, Christine Sexton, Drew Wilson, and Mike Wright.

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @PeterSchorschFL
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704

Sign up for Sunburn