

FLORIDA DEPARTMENT Of STATE

RON DESANTIS

Governor

LAUREL M. LEE Secretary of State

April 18th, 2022

The Honorable Ron DeSantis Governor of Florida PL-05 The Capitol Tallahassee, FL 32399-0001

The Honorable Wilton Simpson President of the Florida Senate 409 The Capitol Tallahassee, Florida 32399-1300

The Honorable Chris Sprowls Speaker of the Florida House of Representatives 420 The Capitol Tallahassee, Florida 32399-1300

Dear Governor DeSantis, President Simpson, and Speaker Sprowls:

After twenty percent of the members of the Florida Legislature filed written certificates with the Department of State asserting that conditions warrant convening the Legislature into Special Session, the Department of State polled the members of the Florida Legislature pursuant to section 11.011(2), Florida Statutes. The time for voting expired at 12:00 p.m. Eastern on April 18, 2022. The purpose of this letter is to inform you that the number of affirmative votes does not constitute three-fifths of the members of both houses of the Legislature, as required by section 11.011(2), Florida Statutes.

The results of the poll are as follows:

16 members of the Senate voted for calling the special session. 1 members of the Senate voted against calling a special session.

 $\underline{48}$ members of the House of Representatives voted for calling a special session. $\underline{4}$ members of the House of Representatives voted against calling a special session.

As the affirmative votes failed to meet the statutorily required number, the Department of State will not fix the day and hour of a special session.

Sincerely

Laurel M. Lee Secretary of State

Good afternoon,

Twenty percent of the members of the Florida Legislature have filed with the Department of State written certifications asserting that conditions warrant convening the Legislature into special session. Pursuant to Section 11.011(2) F.S., the Department of State is required to poll the members of the Legislature to determine whether three-fifths of the members of each house favor convening a special session for the purpose stated in the certificates.

Below are the results of the poll as of the final deadline at 12:00 p.m. (EST) today, Monday, April 18, 2022.

Senate						
Last Name	First Name	Party	District	Received Letter to Call Special Session	Poll Response: Yes	Poll Response: No
Albritton	Ben	Rep	26			
Ausley	Loranne	Dem	3	х	Х	
Baxley	Dennis	Rep	12			
Bean	Aaron	Rep	4		х	
Berman	Lori	Dem	31	х	Х	
Book	Lauren	Dem	32	х	Х	
Boyd	Jim	Rep	21			
Bracy	Randolph	Dem	11			
Bradley	Jennifer	Rep	5			
Brandes	Jeff	Rep	24	х	х	
Brodeur	Jason	Rep	9			
Broxson	Doug	Rep	1			
Burgess	Danny	Rep	20			
Cruz	Janet	Dem	18	х	х	
Diaz	Manny	Rep	36			
Farmer, Jr.	Gary	Dem	34	х	х	
Gainer	George	Rep	2			
Garcia	lleana	Rep	37			
Gibson	Audrey	Dem	6		х	
Gruters	Joe	Rep	23			
Harrell	Gayle	Rep	25			
Hooper	Ed	Rep	16		х	
Hutson	Travis	Rep	7			
Jones	Shevrin	Dem	35	х	х	
Mayfield	Debbie	Rep	17			

Osgood	Rosalind	Dem	33	х	x	
Passidomo	Kathleen	Rep	28			
Perry	Keith	Rep	8			
Pizzo	Jason	Dem	38	х	х	
Polsky	Tina	Dem	29	х	х	
Powell	Bobby	Dem	30	х		
Rodrigues (R)	Ray	Rep	27			
Rodriguez (A)	Ana Maria	Rep	39			
	Darryl					
Rouson	Ervin	Dem	19		Х	
Simpson	Wilton	Rep	10			
Stargel	Kelli	Rep	22			
Stewart	Linda	Dem	13			
Taddeo	Annette	Dem	40	х	х	
Torres, Jr.	Victor M.	Dem	15	х	х	
Wright	Tom A.	Rep	14			Х
Total Members:	40			13	16	1

House						
Last Name	First Name	Party	District	Received Letter to Call Special Session	Poll Response: Yes	Poll Response: No
Alexander	Ramon	Dem	8		х	
Aloupis	Vance Arthur	Rep	115			
Altman	Thad	Rep	52			
Andrade	Robert Alexander ''Alex''	Rep	2			
Arrington	Kristen Aston	Dem	43	х	x	
Avila	Bryan	Rep	111			
Barnaby	Webster	Rep	27			
Bartleman	Robin	Dem	104	х	х	
Bell	Melony	Rep	56			
Beltran	Mike	Rep	57			
Benjamin	Christopher	Dem	107		х	

Borrero	David	Rep	105			
Botana	Adam	Rep	76			
Brannan III	Robert Charles "Chuck"	Rep	10			
Brown	Kamia	Dem	45		x	
Buchanan	James	Rep	74		^	х
Burton	Colleen	Rep	40			Λ
Busatta	colleen	Кер	40			
Cabrera	Demi	Rep	114			
Bush III	James	Dem	109		х	
Byrd	Cord	Rep	11			
Campbell	Daryl	Dem	94		х	
Caruso	Michael "Mike"	Rep	89			
Casello	Joseph	Dem	90	х	х	
Chambliss	Kevin	Dem	117	х	х	
Chaney	Linda	Rep	69		х	
Clemons	Charles Wesley ''Chuck''	Rep	21			
Daley	Dan	Dem	97	х	х	
Davis	Tracie	Dem	13	х	х	
Diamond	Ben	Dem	68	х	х	
DiCeglie	Nick	Rep	66			
Drake	Brad	Rep	5			
Driskell	Fentrice	Dem	63	х	х	
Duggan	Wyman	Rep	15			
Duran	Nicholas X.	Dem	112	х	х	
Edmonds	Jervonte 'Tae'	Dem	88		x	
Eskamani	Anna V.	Dem	47	х	х	
Fabricio	Tom	Rep	103		х	
Fernandez- Barquin	Juan	Rep	119			
Fetterhoff	Elizabeth	Rep	26	х	х	
Fine	Randy	Rep	53			
Fischer	Jason	Rep	16	х		
Garrison	Sam	Rep	18			
Geller	Joe	Dem	100	х	х	

Giallombardo	Mike	Rep	77			
Goff-Marcil	Joy	Dem	30		х	
Gottlieb	Michael ''Mike''	Dem	98		v	
					X	
Grall	Erin	Rep	54			
Grant	Michael –	Rep	75			
Gregory	Tommy	Rep	73			
Grieco	Michael	Dem	113	Х	X	
Hage	Brett Thomas	Rep	33			
Harding	Joe	Rep	22			
Hart	Dianne "Ms Dee"	Dem	61	x	x	
Hawkins	Fred	Rep	42			
	Yvonne					
Hinson	Hayes	Dem	20	х	х	
Hunschofsky	Christine	Dem	96	х	х	
Ingoglia	Blaise	Rep	35		х	
Jenne	Evan	Dem	99	х	х	
Joseph	Dotie	Dem	108		х	
Killebrew	Sam	Rep	41	х	х	
Koster	Traci	Rep	64			x
LaMarca	Chip	Rep	93			
Latvala	Chris	Rep	67			
Learned	Andrew	Dem	59	х	х	
Leek	Thomas J. ''Tom''	Rep	25			
Maggard	Randy	Rep	38			
Maney	Patt	Rep	4			
Mariano	Amber	Rep	36			
Massullo, Jr.	Ralph	Rep	34			х
McClain	Stan	Rep	23			
McClure	Lawrence	Rep	58			
	Travaris L.					
McCurdy	'Tray'	Dem	72	х	х	
McFarland	Fiona	Rep	72			
Melo	Lauren	Rep	80			
	James Vernon					
Mooney	'Jim'	Rep	120			

Morales	Daisy	Dem	48		x	
	Angela				1	
Nixon	'Angie'	Dem	14	Х	х	
Omphroy	Anika Tene	Dem	95	х	х	
	Tobin					
Overdorf	Rogers 'Toby'	Rep	83			
Payne	Bobby	Rep	19			
Perez	Daniel	Rep	116			+
Persons-	Daniel	Кер	110			
Mulicka	Jenna	Rep	78			
Plakon	Scott	Rep	29			
Rayner	Michele	Dem	70	х	x	
Renner	Paul	Rep	24			
Rizo	Alex	Rep	110			
Roach	Spencer	Rep	79			
	Felicia					
Robinson (F)	Simone	Dem	102	х	х	
	William					
Robinson	Cloud 'Will'	Rep	71			
Rodriguez	Anthony	Rep	118			
Rommel	Bob	Rep	106			
Roth	Rick	Rep	85			
Sabatini	Anthony	Rep	32	Х	х	
Salzman	Michelle	Rep	1			
Shoaf	Jason	Rep	7			
Silvers	David	Dem	87		х	
Sirois	Tyler I.	Rep	51			
Skidmore	Kelly	Dem	81	х	х	
Slosberg- King	Emily	Dem	91	х	х	
	Carlos					
Smith	Guillermo	Dem	49	Х	X	
Smith	David	Rep	28	Х		
Snyder	John	Rep	82			
Sprowls	Chris	Rep	65			ļ
Stevenson	Cyndi	Rep	17			x
Tant	Allison	Dem	9	х	x	
Thompson	Geraldine	Dem	44	х	x	
Toledo	Jackie	Rep	60			
Tomkow	Josie	Rep	39			

Trabulsy	Dana	Rep	84			
Truenow	Keith	Rep	31			
Trumbull	Jay	Rep	6			
Tuck	Kaylee	Rep	55			
Valdes	Susan L.	Dem	62	х	х	
Willhite	Matt	Dem	86	х	х	
Williams	Patricia H.	Dem	92	х	х	
Williamson	Jayer	Rep	3			
Woodson	Marie Paule	Dem	101	х	х	
Yarborough	Clay	Rep	12			
Zika	Ardian	Rep	37			
Total Members:	120			36	48	4

Thank you,

Brittany N. Dover Legislative Affairs Director Department of State 850.245.6509 (office) 850.274.3105 (cell)