Florida mayors join compact to ‘fight hate, extremism’ in wake of Charlottesville – Florida Politics

Florida mayors join compact to ‘fight hate, extremism’ in wake of Charlottesville

A group Florida mayors are joining the national effort between the U.S. Conference of Mayors and the Anti-Defamation League in response to President Donald Trump‘s statements on the violence in Charlottesville.

On Friday, fourteen more Florida mayors added their names to the “Mayor’s Compact to Combat Hate, Extremism and Bigotry,” making 35 mayors in total throughout the state.

Signatories include Andrew Gillum of Tallahassee, Philip Levine from Miami Beach, and Bob Buckhorn from Tampa.

“It’s cities and mayors who are on the front lines if and when some of our national leaders refuse to stand up in the face of hate, America’s Mayors will, “said Buckhorn. “That’s why I joined mayors from across the country to stand unified against bigotry, hate and racism. We cannot allow this divisive rhetoric to continue, not in our city and certainly not from the highest and most powerful office in the world.”

In all, more than 240 mayors have signed to the compact in just the last 48 hours, representing  Democratic and Republican leaders from cities including New York City, Chicago, Los Angeles, Houston, Dallas, Baltimore, Atlanta, Washington, D.C., and San Francisco.

The 10 components of the compact include calls to reject extremism, white supremacy, and all forms of bigotry, and to ensure public safety while protecting free speech and other basic constitutional rights. Signatories also pledge to strengthen civil rights protections and promote law enforcement training to respond and report hate incidents, crimes, and domestic terrorism.

“Mayors and their cities must continue to be a beacon for inclusion, tolerance, and respect for all,” the compact reads. “We will continue to create stronger cultures of kindness and compassion in our communities, and expect our federal and state partners to join us in this endeavor.”

Here is the list of Florida mayors joining the compact:

Joe Kilsheimer, Apopka, Florida
Enid Weisman, Aventura, Florida
Gabriel Groisman, Bal Harbour Village, Florida
Susan Haynie, Boca Raton, Florida
Marni L. Sawicki, Cape Coral, Florida
Judith ‘Judy’ Paul, Davie, Florida
Derrick L. Henry, Daytona Beach, Florida
Juan Carlos Bermudez, Doral, Florida
Julie Ward Bujalski, Dunedin, Florida
Randall P. Henderson Jr., Fort Myers, Florida
Joy Cooper, Hallandale Beach, Florida
Josh Levy, Hollywood, Florida
Hazelle Rogers, Lauderdale Lakes, Florida
Richard J. Kaplan, Lauderhill, Florida
Philip Levine, Miami Beach, Florida
Oliver G. Gilbert III, Miami Gardens, Florida
Wayne M. Messam, Miramar, Florida
Bill Barnett, Naples, Florida
John Adornato III, Oakland Park, Florida
Buddy Dyer, Orlando, Florida
William Capote, Palm Bay, Florida
Milissa Holland, Palm Coast, Florida
Christine Hunschofsky, Parkland, Florida
Frank C. Ortis, Pembroke Pines, Florida
Ashton J. Hayward, Pensacola, Florida
Joseph M Corradino, Pinecrest, Florida
Donald O. Burnette, Port Orange, Florida
Gregory J. Oravec, Port St. Lucie, Florida
Rick Kriseman, St. Petersburg, Florida
Michael J. Ryan, Sunrise, Florida
Andrew D. Gillum, Tallahassee, Florida
Harry Dressler, Tamarac, Florida
Bob Buckhorn, Tampa, Florida
Geraldine ‘Jeri’ Muoio Ph.D., West Palm Beach, Florida
Daniel J. Stermer, Weston, Florida

Mitch Perry has been a reporter with Extensive Enterprises since November of 2014. Previously, he served five years as political editor of the alternative newsweekly Creative Loafing. Mitch also was assistant news director with WMNF 88.5 FM in Tampa from 2000-2009, and currently hosts MidPoint, a weekly talk show, on WMNF on Thursday afternoons. He began his reporting career at KPFA radio in Berkeley and is a San Francisco native who has lived in Tampa since 2000. Mitch can be reached at mitch.perry@floridapolitics.com.
Show Buttons
Hide Buttons