Republican Thuy Lowe qualifies by petition for CD 10 race

Thuy Lowe

Republican Thuy Lowe has enough certified petition signatures to qualify as a candidate in Florida’s 10th Congressional District, she announced Friday.

Lowe, of Sorrento, only entered the race in April, though she had initially filed last year to run in Congressional District 5. Thanks to redistricting, CD 10 absorbed most of CD 5’s Central Florida territory, including Lowe’s home.

Her campaign gathered more than 2,800 petition signatures and so far 2,348 have been certified, she said. She needed 2,299 valid signatures.

Lowe seeks to succeed Republican U.S. Rep. Dan Webster of Winter Garden, who chose to run in CD 11 after redistricting. A second Republican, Geoff LaGarde of Jacksonville, entered the race two weeks ago.

The Democrats have a four-way contest featuring former Orlando Police Chief Val Demings, former Florida Democratic Party Chair Bob Poe, state Sen. Geraldine Thompson and Fatima Rita Fahmy.

Lowe ran in 2012 in CD 5, but lost the Republican primary to Glo Smith of Jacksonville.

Scott Powers

Scott Powers is an Orlando-based political journalist with 30+ years’ experience, mostly at newspapers such as the Orlando Sentinel and the Columbus Dispatch. He covers local, state and federal politics and space news across much of Central Florida. His career earned numerous journalism awards for stories ranging from the Space Shuttle Columbia disaster to presidential elections to misplaced nuclear waste. He and his wife Connie have three grown children. Besides them, he’s into mystery and suspense books and movies, rock, blues, basketball, baseball, writing unpublished novels, and being amused. Email him at [email protected]


Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Jason Delgado, Drew Dixon, Renzo Downey, Rick Flagg, A.G. Gancarski, Joe Henderson, Janelle Irwin, Ryan Nicol, Jacob Ogles, Scott Powers, Andrew Wilson, and Kelly Hayes.

Email: [email protected]
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704