AIF group lauds passage of Florida House water bill

2112-c-44-reservoir-stormwater-treatment-area-project copy

The Florida H2O Coalition – a water policy vehicle backed by Associated Industries of Florida – applauded today’s action by the Florida House of Representatives to pass HB 7003, a sprawling piece of water legislation aimed at protecting ecologically sensitive waterways.

“Today, the Florida House took a giant step forward in adopting a policy that will better prepare Florida for current and future water challenges,” said AIF Senior Vice President of State and Federal Affairs Brewster Bevis in a Thursday statement. “HB 7003 creates sustainable solutions for growing our water supply, provides protections for our springs, and gives water managers additional options so that the regional needs of our state can be better met.”

Bevis went on to praise Rep. Matt Caldwell, who sponsored the bill, as well as Speaker Steve Crisafulli for setting a water-centric tone ahead of 2015 Session. He also expressed that on behalf of the Coalition, Bevis will be closely monitoring action on SB 918, the bill’s upper-chamber companion.

“As this bill heads to the Senate, the H2O Coalition will continue to advocate for a broad solution that increases our state’s commitment to solving water quality and quantity issues.”

The bill, entitled Relating to Environmental Resources, passed by a vote of 106 to 9, with the many of the House’s most liberal Democrats voting ‘No’.

Ryan Ray

Ryan Ray covers politics and public policy in North Florida and across the state. He has also worked as a legislative researcher and political campaign staffer. He can be reached at [email protected]


Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Jason Delgado, Renzo Downey, Rick Flagg, A.G. Gancarski, Anne Geggis, Joe Henderson, Janelle Irwin, Ryan Nicol, Jacob Ogles, Jesse Scheckner, Scott Powers, Andrew Wilson, and Kelly Hayes.

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @PeterSchorschFL
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704