Connect with us
U.S. Rep. Patrick Murphy


Patrick Murphy announces endorsements by almost half of Democratic state lawmakers

U.S. Rep. Patrick Murphy has been racking up major Democratic endorsements at a rapid clip since he launched his bid for the U.S. Senate in late March. On Thursday he continued that trend, announcing via news release that he has secured the support of 25 sitting Florida state legislators.

“From South Florida to Tampa, from Orlando to the Panhandle, people are joining this campaign to get Washington working for Florida,” Murphy said in a written statement. 

He continued: “I am overwhelmed to have the support of so many state lawmakers, who are leaders in their communities. While they battle obstruction and extremism in Tallahassee, I, too, will continue that fight in Washington.”

The all-Democratic roster of backers includes former Senate Minority Leader Chris Smith, House Minority Leader Designate Janet Cruz, fellow Palm Beach pol Sen. Joe Abruzzo and Dean of the Senate, former President Gwen Margolis, and a slew of sitting representatives.

Sen. Jeff Clemens is notably included in the newly minted list of Murphy backers, on the same day the Lake Worth lawmaker announced that he will not seek Murphy’s soon-to-be-vacant 18th Congressional District seat.

The full slate of recent legislative endorsers, as listed in Murphy campaign news release, is here:

State Sen. Joseph Abruzzo, D-Wellington
State Sen. Jeff Clemens, D-Lake Worth
State Sen. Audrey Gibson, D-Jacksonville
State Sen. Gwen Margolis, D-Miami Beach
State Sen. Jeremy Ring, D-Margate
State Sen. Chris Smith, D-Fort Lauderdale

State Rep. Bruce Antone, D-Orlando
State Rep. Lori Berman, D-Lantana
State Rep. Janet Cruz, D-Tampa
State Rep. Dwight Dudley, D-St. Petersburg
State Rep. Katie Edwards, D-Plantation
State Rep. Joe Gellar, D-Aventura
State Rep. Kristin Jacobs, D-Pompano Beach
State Rep. Evan Jenne, D-Hollywood
State Rep. Shevrin D. Jones, D-West Park
State Rep. Dave Kerner, D-Lake Worth
State Rep. Larry Lee Jr., D-Port St. Lucie
State Rep. Jared Moskowitz, D-Coral Springs
State Rep. Ed Narain, D-Tampa
State Rep. Bobby Powell, D-Riviera Beach
State Rep. Kevin Rader, D-Delray Beach
State Rep. Jose Javier Rodriguez, D-Miami
State Rep. Irving Slosberg, D-Boca Raton
State Rep. Dwayne L. Taylor, D-Daytona Beach
State Rep. Alan Williams, D-Tallahassee

Written By

Ryan Ray covers politics and public policy in North Florida and across the state. He has also worked as a legislative researcher and political campaign staffer. He can be reached at

Sign up for Sunburn

Receive our team's agenda-setting morning read of what's hot in Florida politics. Delivered straight to your inbox Monday through Friday.

Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Renzo Downey, Rick Flagg, A.G. Gancarski, Joe Henderson, Janelle Irwin, Jacob Ogles, Scott Powers, Bob Sparks, Andrew Wilson.
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704

Sign up for Sunburn

Receive our team's agenda-setting morning read of what's hot in Florida politics. Delivered straight to your inbox Monday through Friday.