Connect with us
New House


Orlando Realtors back incumbents for Congress, Florida House, Republicans for Cabinet

The Orlando Regional Realtor Association announced its list of endorsements Thursday, siding with Republicans for the Florida Cabinet positions and incumbents of either party for most other elected offices up in the Nov. 6 election in Orange and Seminole counties.

The Realtor Association did not make an endorsement in Florida’s U.S. Senate race, in which Democratic incumbent U.S. Sen. Bill Nelson and Republican Gov. Rick Scott are facing off.

In congressional races, the association is backing Democratic U.S. Rep. Stephanie Murphy in Florida’s 7th Congressional District, Republican U.S. Rep. Bill Posey in Florida’s 8th Congressional District, and Democratic U.S. Rep. Darren Soto in Florida’s 9th Congressional District.

For the cabinet, the association is backing Republicans Ron DeSantis for Governor, Matt Caldwell for Agriculture Commissioner, Ashley Moody for Attorney General, and incumbent Chief Financial Officer Jimmy Patronis.

The association, which represents more than 14,000 real estate professionals throughout Central Florida, said it considered “candidates based on his or her past voting record and/or sensitivity to real estate issues,” and that the endorsed candidates are now eligible to receive contributions from the Realtors political action committee.

Among other endorsements:

In Florida House races, the Realtors are backing Republican David Smith in House District 50; Republican state Rep. Scott Plakon in House District 29; Republican state Rep. Bob Cortes in House District 30; Republican state Rep. Jennifer Sullivan in House District 31; Republican state Rep. Bobby Olszewski in House District 44; Democratic state Rep. Bruce Antone in House District 46; Democratic state Rep. Amy Mercado in House District 48; Democratic House Rep. Carlos Guillermo Smith in House District 49; and Republican state Rep. Rene Plasencia in House District 50.

The group did not endorse in House District 47, where Democrat Anna Eskamani and Republican Stockton Reeves are tussling for an open seat.

The group also endorsed Orlando Police Chief John Mina for Orange County Sheriff; Christine Moore, Mayra Uribe, and Susan Makowski for the Orange County Commission; and Johanna Lopez and Melissa Byrd for the Orange County School Board.

In Seminole County, the group endorsed Jay Zembower and Amy Lockhart for the Seminole County Commission, and Alan Youngblood for the Seminole County School Board.

Written By

Scott Powers is an Orlando-based political journalist with 30+ years’ experience, mostly at newspapers such as the Orlando Sentinel and the Columbus Dispatch. He covers local, state and federal politics and space news across much of Central Florida. His career earned numerous journalism awards for stories ranging from the Space Shuttle Columbia disaster to presidential elections to misplaced nuclear waste. He and his wife Connie have three grown children. Besides them, he’s into mystery and suspense books and movies, rock, blues, basketball, baseball, writing unpublished novels, and being amused. Email him at

Sign up for Sunburn

Receive our team's agenda-setting morning read of what's hot in Florida politics. Delivered straight to your inbox Monday through Friday.

Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Jim Rosica, A.G. Gancarski, Joe Henderson, Janelle Irwin, Dan McAuliffe, Jacob Ogles, Scott Powers, Bob Sparks, Andrew Wilson.
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704

Sign up for Sunburn

Receive our team's agenda-setting morning read of what's hot in Florida politics. Delivered straight to your inbox Monday through Friday.