House announces ranking Democrats for legislative panels

tallahassee capitol

Fred Piccolo, spokesman for House Speaker Jose Oliva, released the following memo on Friday:

After consulting with House Democratic Leader Kionne McGhee, the following members are hereby appointed as Ranking Members for the following committees and subcommittees for the 2019 Legislative Session.

Appropriations Committee – Leader McGhee

Agriculture & Natural Resources Appropriations Subcommittee – Rep. Kristin Jacobs

Government Operations & Technology Appropriations Subcommittee – Rep. John Cortes

Health Care Appropriations Subcommittee – Rep. Nicholas Duran

Higher Education Appropriations Subcommittee – Rep. Ramon Alexander

Justice Appropriations Subcommittee – Rep. Sharon Pritchett

PreK-12 Appropriations Subcommittee – Rep. Patricia Williams

Transportation & Tourism Appropriations Subcommittee – Rep. Barbara Watson

Commerce Committee – Rep. Evan Jenne

Business & Professions Subcommittee – Rep. Wengay Newton

Energy & Utilities Subcommittee – Rep. Al Jacquet

Gaming Control Subcommittee – Rep. Joseph Geller

Insurance & Banking Subcommittee – Rep. Shevrin Jones

Workforce Development & Tourism Subcommittee – Rep. Kamia Brown

Education Committee – Rep. Bruce Antone

Higher Education & Career Readiness Subcommittee – Rep. Carlos Guillermo Smith

PreK-12 Innovation Subcommittee – Rep. Susan Valdes

PreK-12 Quality Subcommittee – Rep. Jennifer Webb

Health & Human Services Committee – Rep. Nicholas Duran

Children, Families & Seniors Subcommittee – Rep. Loranne Ausley

Health Market Reform Subcommittee – Rep. Margaret Good

Health Quality Subcommittee – Rep. Richard Stark

Judiciary Committee – Rep. Ben Diamond

Civil Justice Subcommittee – Rep. Anika Omphroy

Criminal Justice Subcommittee – Rep. Michael Grieco

Public Integrity & Ethics Committee – Rep. Tracie Davis

Rules Committee – Rep. Al Jacquet

State Affairs Committee – Rep. Bobby DuBose

Agriculture & Natural Resources Subcommittee – Rep. Delores Hogan Johnson

Local, Federal & Veterans Affairs Subcommittee – Rep. David Silvers

Oversight, Transparency & Public Management Subcommittee – Rep. Kimberly Daniels

Transportation & Infrastructure Subcommittee – Rep. Geraldine Thompson

Ways & Means Committee – Rep. Amy Mercado

Terrie Rizzo, chair of the Florida Democratic Party, later Friday released the following statement:

“This is the most diverse and qualified group of leaders the Florida House has ever seen, and Floridians are lucky to have their voices and expertise weighing in on critical issues facing our state.

“Led by Kionne McGhee, we are confident our lawmakers will be strong advocates for public education, critical environmental reforms, healthcare affordability and accessibility, and criminal justice reform. Congratulations to all of our leaders on their prestigious assignments for the 2019 Session!”

Staff Reports


Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch @PeterSchorschFL

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Jason Delgado, Renzo Downey, Daniel Figueroa, A.G. Gancarski, Anne Geggis, Kelly Hayes, Joe Henderson, Ryan Nicol, Jacob Ogles, Scott Powers, Gray Rohrer, Jesse Scheckner, Christine Sexton, Andrew Wilson, Mike Wright, and Tristan Wood.

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @PeterSchorschFL
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704

Sign up for Sunburn