Connect with us


All three Tampa City Council incumbents re-elected

Charlie Miranda, Guido Maniscalco and Luis Viera will be the only City Council members to return.

All three Tampa City Council members running for re-election have won.

Charlie Miranda, Guido Maniscalco and Luis Viera all handily won their races.

Miranda, who sought re-election in citywide District 2 is up big with 58 percent of the vote. His challengers, consultant John Godwin, and Joe Robinson have collected 23 and 19 percent of the vote, respectively.

Miranda has been a City Council member in Tampa on and off again since the early 1970s. That gave Miranda unparalleled name recognition in the city as well as some hard-to-match fundraising prowess.

Godwin currently works for the National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency and is based out of MacDill Air Force Base. According to his campaign announcement, he “specializes in political enfranchisement and works with military, governmental, and civilian entities to navigate challenges in countries around the world.”

Godwin thanked his supporters Tuesday night on Facebook after conceding the race.

“I spent just about every evening of the past 12 months at community meetings, meeting so many wonderful people—listening to your concerns and studying how city council could address them. I will continue to be there, speaking with you all and working to champion causes important to you,” Godwin wrote.

Godwin is also a member of the Greater Tampa Chamber of Commerce, the Hillsborough County Foster Parent Association, Hillsborough County Child Care Facilities Advisory Board, and the Tampa Tiger Bay Club. Additionally, he and his wife Catherine are licensed foster parents. The Godwins and their 2-year-old son live in South Tampa.

Robinson runs an engineering consulting company.

Maniscalco bested Wendy Pepe, a local small business owner, for the South Tampa seat he represents, 61-39 percent.

Viera handily won re-election against challenger Quinton Robinson with 76 percent of the vote, according to early results. Robinson raised just $9k in the race compared to Viera’s $113k.

The three will be the only candidates returning to City Council. Another candidate, John Dingfelder in the citywide District 3 seat who previously served as a City Council member, also looks poised to win Tuesday night, but might face a runoff. So far he’s up with 49 percent of the vote with challenger Stephen Lytle at 20 percent. Dingfelder needs more than 50 percent to avoid a runoff.

Janelle Irwin Taylor has been a professional journalist covering local news and politics in the Tampa Bay area since 2003. Most recently, Janelle reported for the Tampa Bay Business Journal. She formerly served as the sole staff reporter for WMNF News and previously covered news for and various local neighborhood newsletters. Her work has been featured in the New York Daily News, Free Speech Radio News and Florida Public Radio and she's been interviewed by radio stations across the nation for her coverage of the 2012 Republican National Convention. Janelle is a die-hard news junkie who isn't afraid to take on big names in local politics, including Tampa Mayor Bob Buckhorn, the dirty business of trash and recycling in St. Pete and contentious issues surrounding transit. Her work as a reporter and radio host has earned her two WMNF awards including News Volunteer of the Year and Public Affairs Volunteer of the Year. Janelle is also a devoted wife and mother to three brilliant and beautiful daughters who are a constant source of inspiration and occasional blogging fodder.

Sign up for Sunburn

Receive our team's agenda-setting morning read of what's hot in Florida politics. Delivered straight to your inbox Monday through Friday.

Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Jim Rosica, A.G. Gancarski, Joe Henderson, Janelle Irwin, Dan McAuliffe, Jacob Ogles, Scott Powers, Bob Sparks, Andrew Wilson.
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704

Sign up for Sunburn

Receive our team's agenda-setting morning read of what's hot in Florida politics. Delivered straight to your inbox Monday through Friday.