The latest on the legislative staffing merry-go-round


With a hat-tip to LobbyTools, the latest of who is on — and off — the legislative staffing merry-go-round.

Off: Christine Biron is no longer legislative assistant for Sen. Darren Soto.

On: Martin Rivera takes Biron’s place as Soto’s legislative assistant.

Off & on: Michael Willson is leaving as legislative analyst for the House Economic Affairs Committee.

On: Stephanie Johnson replaces Willson as the new legislative analyst for the Economic Affairs Committee.

On: Derek Miller is the new administrative assistant for the House Education Committee.

Off: Kerrington Kiner is leaving as policy chief of the House Veteran & Military Affairs Subcommittee.

On: Jason Thompson, a former committee analyst, will take over as chief of Veteran & Military Affairs.

On: Alex Moore takes a role as attorney for the House Government Operations Subcommittee.

Off: Katherine San Pedro is no longer the legislative assistant for Rep. Bryan Avila.

Off: Jennifer Gurland is no longer legislative assistant for Rep. Lori Berman.

Off: Joseph Sosa is leaving his post as district secretary for Rep. Manny Diaz.

Off & On: Bryan Vallejo is no longer district secretary for Rep. Dwight Dudley.

On: Aeriel Harlacher will be Dudley’s new district secretary.

On: Veronica Buie has taken a role as legislative assistant for Rep. Kionne McGhee.

On: Wendi Leach is the new district secretary for Rep. Greg Steube.


Phil Ammann

Phil Ammann is a Tampa Bay-area journalist, editor and writer. With more than three decades of writing, editing, reporting and management experience, Phil produced content for both print and online, in addition to founding several specialty websites, including His broad range includes covering news, local government, entertainment reviews, marketing and an advice column. Phil has served as editor and production manager for Extensive Enterprises Media since 2013 and lives in Tampa with his wife, visual artist Margaret Juul. He can be reached on Twitter @PhilAmmann or at [email protected].


Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch @PeterSchorschFL

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Drew Dixon, Roseanne Dunkelberger, A.G. Gancarski, Anne Geggis, Ryan Nicol, Jacob Ogles, Cole Pepper, Gray Rohrer, Jesse Scheckner, Christine Sexton, Drew Wilson, and Mike Wright.

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @PeterSchorschFL
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704