Latest on the legislative staffing merry-go-round


With a tip of the hat to Legislative IQ powered by LobbyTools, here are the latest movements – both on and off – of the legislative merry-go-round.

On: Luke Strickland is a new legislative assistant in the Senate Majority Office.

Off: Christine DonFrancesco is no longer a legislative assistant for Wellington Democrat Sen. Joseph Abruzzo.

Off: Katie Martin is no longer a legislative assistant for Lakeland Republican Sen. Kelli Stargel.

On: John Kotyk became a legislative assistant for Elkton Republican Sen. Travis Hutson.

Off: Gina Herron has left as legislative assistant for Senate President Andy Gardiner.

On: Kevin Deo is Gardiner’s new legislative assistant.

Off: Jesus Tundidor is no longer legislative assistant for Hialeah Republican Sen. Rene Garcia.

On: Miguel Abad is Garcia’s new legislative assistant.

Off: Nicholas Abrahams is no longer legislative assistant in the Ocala office for Sen. Charlie Dean.

On: Kyle Langan is Dean’s new legislative assistant in Ocala.

On and Off: Legislative Assistant Tracy Brooks moved from Sen. Darren Soto‘s Kissimmee office to his Orlando office.

Phil Ammann

Phil Ammann is a Tampa Bay-area journalist, editor and writer. With more than three decades of writing, editing, reporting and management experience, Phil produced content for both print and online, in addition to founding several specialty websites, including His broad range includes covering news, local government, entertainment reviews, marketing and an advice column. Phil has served as editor and production manager for Extensive Enterprises Media since 2013 and lives in Tampa with his wife, visual artist Margaret Juul. He can be reached on Twitter @PhilAmmann or at [email protected].


Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch @PeterSchorschFL

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Drew Dixon, Roseanne Dunkelberger, A.G. Gancarski, Anne Geggis, Ryan Nicol, Jacob Ogles, Cole Pepper, Gray Rohrer, Jesse Scheckner, Christine Sexton, Drew Wilson, and Mike Wright.

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @PeterSchorschFL
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704