Enterprise Florida president search down to five names


The presidential search committee for Enterprise Florida (EFI) on Friday decided on five finalists to lead the state’s public-private economic development organization.

They are:

— Christine L. Adamow, formerly with the Ringling College of Art & Design’s Department of Business and Art Design.

— Richard M. Biter, a retired assistant secretary of the Florida Department of Transportation.

— Reid Dulberger, economic development officer for the mayors of Memphis and Shelby County, Tennessee.

— Michael Finney, former chief executive officer, Michigan Economic Development Corp.

— Michael L. McGee, senior commercial officer, U.S. Department of Commerce; Bogota, Colombia.

The committee, chaired by Gulf Power Company chief Stan Connally, plans on holding phone interviews and paring that list down some more.

Enterprise Florida board members then will make their pick at their board meeting on Sept. 28-29.

Alan Becker, EFI board vice chair, earlier this week said he expects only a handful of applicants will meet the agency’s needs: knowledge of economic development, organizational leadership, and experience working with the Legislature.

Bill Johnson, the agency’s immediate past leader, had taken hits over his people skills as the agency’s proposed $250 million incentives fund crashed and burned during the 2016 Legislative Session.

Johnson also was questioned over his hiring and expenses. He left the organization in late June.

Gov. Rick Scott and the EFI board have since agreed to streamline operations of the 20-year-old agency, including eliminating jobs, closing international offices, and canceling contracts with outside consultants.

The next president will be paid $175,000-$200,000 per year, down from Johnson’s salary of $265,000. The agency’s head also serves as Florida’s Secretary of Commerce.

Staff Reports


Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch @PeterSchorschFL

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Drew Dixon, Roseanne Dunkelberger, A.G. Gancarski, Anne Geggis, Ryan Nicol, Jacob Ogles, Cole Pepper, Gray Rohrer, Jesse Scheckner, Christine Sexton, Drew Wilson, and Mike Wright.

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @PeterSchorschFL
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704