Associated Industries of Florida PAC endorses in 88 state races
A view of the Capitol in Tallahassee. (Florida Politics/Phil Sears)

Screen Shot 2016-02-21 at 3.56.00 PM

The Associated Industries of Florida Political Action Committee Friday announced its endorsements of candidates running for the Florida Senate and House of Representatives in the 2016 General Election, including 15 Democrats and 73 Republicans.

“This list of candidates from across the Sunshine State is representative of who we believe will be the best voices for the business community in our state’s Capitol,” AIF President Tom Feeney stated in a news release issued by the PAC. “As we continue to strive to make Florida a breeding ground for entrepreneurship and innovative job growth, these candidates each exhibit a commitment to protect Florida employers and employees, while growing our economy and job base. This November, we encourage Florida voters and our membership to support these candidates who we believe will position Florida as the No. 1 state to conduct business.”

AIFPAC was formed to assist in the election of business-friendly candidates to the Florida Legislature.

The AIFPAC endorsements to the Florida Senate are:

Democrat Bill Montford in District 3; Republican Travis Hutson in District 7; Republican Keith Perry in District 8; Democrat Randolph Bracy in District 11; Republican Dean Asher in District 13; Republican Dorothy Hukill in District 14; Democrat Victor Torres in District 15; Republican Jack Latvala in District 16; Republican Debbie Mayfield in District 17; Republican Dana Young in District 18; Democrat Darryl Rouson in District 19; Republican Kelli Stargel in District 22; Republican Greg Steube in District 23; Republican Jeff Brandes in District 24; Republican Joe Negron in District 25; Republican Lizbeth Benacquisto in District 27; Democrat Jeff Clemens in District 31; Republican Rene Garcia in District 36; Republican Miguel Diaz de la Portilla in District 37; Democrat Daphne Campbell in District 38; Republican Anitere Flores in District 39; and Republican Frank Artiles in District 40.

The AIFPAC endorsements to the Florida House are:

Republican Clay Ingram in District 1; Republican Frank White in District 2; Republican Brad Drake in District 5; Republican Jay Trumbull in District 6; Democrat Ramon Alexander in District 8; Democrat Loranne Ausley in District 9; Republican Elizabeth Porter in District 10; Republican Cord Byrd in District 11; Republican Clay Yarborough in District 12; Republican Jay Fant in District 15; Republican Dick Kravitz in District 16; Republican Travis Cummings in District 18; Republican Bobby Payne in District 19; Republican Chuck Clemons in District 21; Republican Stan McClain in District 23; Republican Paul Renner in District 24; Republican Tom Leek in District 25; Republican David Santiago in District 27; Republican Scott Plakon in District 29; Republican Bob Cortes in District 30; Republican Jennifer Sullivan in District 31; Republican Blaise Ingoglia in District 35; Democrat Amanda Murphy in District 36; Republican Neil Combee in District 39; Republican Colleen Burton in District 40; Republican Sam Killebrew in District 41; Republican Mike La Rosa in District 42; Republican Mike Miller in District 47; Republican Rene Plascencia in District 50; Republican Tom Goodson in District 51; Republican Randy Fine in District 53; Republican Ben Albritton in District 56; Republican Daniel Raulerson in District 58; Republican Ross Spano in District 59; Republican Jackie Toledo in District 60; Republican Shawn Harrison in District 63; Republican Chris Sprowls in District 65; Republican Larry Ahern in District 66; Republican Chris Latvala in District 67; Democrat Ben Diamond in District 68; Republican Kathleen Peters in District 69; Democrat Wengay Newton in District 70; Republican Alex Miller in District 72; Republican Joe Gruters in District 73; Republican Julio Gonzalez in District 74; Republican Ray Rodrigues in District 76; Republican Matt Caldwell in District 79; Republican Byron Donalds in District 80; Republican Mary Lynn Magar in District 82; Republican Gayle Harrell in District 83; Republican Rick Roth in District 85; Republican Manny Diaz Jr. in District 103; Democrat Richard Stark in District 104; Republican Carlos Trujillo in District 105; Democrat Bob Rommel in District 106; Republican Jose Oliva in District 110; Republican Bryan Avila in District 111; Democrat Nicholas Duran in District 112; Republican John Couriel in District 114; Republican Michael Bileca in District 115; Republican Pepi Diaz in District 116; Republican David Rivera in District 118; Republican Jeanette Nuñez in District 119; and Republican Holly Raschein in District 120.

Scott Powers

Scott Powers is an Orlando-based political journalist with 30+ years’ experience, mostly at newspapers such as the Orlando Sentinel and the Columbus Dispatch. He covers local, state and federal politics and space news across much of Central Florida. His career earned numerous journalism awards for stories ranging from the Space Shuttle Columbia disaster to presidential elections to misplaced nuclear waste. He and his wife Connie have three grown children. Besides them, he’s into mystery and suspense books and movies, rock, blues, basketball, baseball, writing unpublished novels, and being amused. Email him at [email protected]


Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch @PeterSchorschFL

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Jason Delgado, Renzo Downey, Daniel Figueroa, A.G. Gancarski, Anne Geggis, Kelly Hayes, Joe Henderson, Ryan Nicol, Jacob Ogles, Scott Powers, Gray Rohrer, Jesse Scheckner, Christine Sexton, Andrew Wilson, Mike Wright, and Tristan Wood.

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @PeterSchorschFL
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704

Sign up for Sunburn