Dennis Ross named to Trump transition team


Lakeland GOP Congressman Dennis Ross, who was re-elected to the House of Representatives for a fourth time earlier this month, has been named to the Donald Trump transition team.

“I am greatly honored to be named to the Trump-Pence Presidential Transition Team,” Ross said in a statement issued Wednesday morning. “The American People spoke on November 8th, and what they said is that they are fed up with the direction our country has taken for the past eight years. My position on this team will be handled with the utmost respect and seriousness it requires because the People’s voice deserves a head seat at this table, which I plan to represent to its fullest. I believe a Trump-Pence Administration will put forth and lead with strong conservative policies that rightfully serve and protect our nation, its people and our freedoms. I am ready to get to work!”

Ross was an enthusiastic supporter of Trump during the campaign, speaking at at least two of his rallies in Florida.

Ross defeated Democrat Jim Lange in Florida’s 15th Congressional District on Nov. 8.



Mitch Perry

Mitch Perry has been a reporter with Extensive Enterprises since November of 2014. Previously, he served five years as political editor of the alternative newsweekly Creative Loafing. Mitch also was assistant news director with WMNF 88.5 FM in Tampa from 2000-2009, and currently hosts MidPoint, a weekly talk show, on WMNF on Thursday afternoons. He began his reporting career at KPFA radio in Berkeley and is a San Francisco native who has lived in Tampa since 2000. Mitch can be reached at [email protected]


Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch @PeterSchorschFL

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Jason Delgado, Renzo Downey, Daniel Figueroa, A.G. Gancarski, Anne Geggis, Kelly Hayes, Joe Henderson, Ryan Nicol, Jacob Ogles, Scott Powers, Gray Rohrer, Jesse Scheckner, Christine Sexton, Andrew Wilson, Mike Wright, and Tristan Wood.

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @PeterSchorschFL
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704

Sign up for Sunburn