HD 58 debate scheduled Dec. 4 in Temple Terrace


The four men running in the special election in House District 58 next month will meet up in a candidates’ forum Monday, Dec. 4, in Temple Terrace.

Republican Lawrence McClure, Democrat Jose Vazquez, Libertarian Bryan Zemina and non-party-affiliated Ahmad Saadaldin are running in the election Dec. 19 to select a successor to Republican Dan Raulerson, who stepped down from the seat in August due to health problems.

Last month, McClure defeated Yvonne Fry in the GOP primary and hopes to keep the seat red in the special election.

Vazquez has been unsuccessful in previous bids for office, including against Raulerson back in 2012.

It’s the first run for office for both Zemina and Saadaldin, a member of the Green Party who is running an independent.

The event will be at the Islamic Society of Tampa Bay and will be moderated by representatives of the Hillsborough branch of the League of Women Voters. There will be a straw poll conducted after the forum, with the votes to be counted by the Hillsborough County Supervisor of Elections.

The four candidates participated in one previous forum earlier this month in Plant City.

District 58 covers Plant City, Temple Terrace, Dover, Mango, Seffner, Thonotosassa, and parts of Tampa and East Lake-Orient Park.

Mitch Perry

Mitch Perry has been a reporter with Extensive Enterprises since November of 2014. Previously, he served five years as political editor of the alternative newsweekly Creative Loafing. Mitch also was assistant news director with WMNF 88.5 FM in Tampa from 2000-2009, and currently hosts MidPoint, a weekly talk show, on WMNF on Thursday afternoons. He began his reporting career at KPFA radio in Berkeley and is a San Francisco native who has lived in Tampa since 2000. Mitch can be reached at [email protected]


Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Jason Delgado, Renzo Downey, Rick Flagg, A.G. Gancarski, Anne Geggis, Joe Henderson, Janelle Irwin, Ryan Nicol, Jacob Ogles, Jesse Scheckner, Scott Powers, Andrew Wilson, and Kelly Hayes.

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @PeterSchorschFL
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704

Sign up for Sunburn