Hoyt Hamilton, David Allbritton win Clearwater City Council seats


An incumbent and a newcomer are winners in two Clearwater City Council races Tuesday evening.

Hoyt Hamilton will return to Seat 5, taking 79 percent of the vote, according to the Pinellas County Supervisor of Elections unofficial results. He defeated real-estate broker John Funk. This will be Hamilton’s third stint on the Council, having previously served from 2001 through 2006.

Hamilton had earned the endorsement of the Pinellas Realtors Organization.

Political newcomer David Allbritton, a retired building contractor, defeated local advertising executive Tom Keller, taking 67 percent of votes for Seat 4, previously held by term-limited Bill Jonson.


Phil Ammann

Phil Ammann is a Tampa Bay-area journalist, editor and writer. With more than three decades of writing, editing, reporting and management experience, Phil produced content for both print and online, in addition to founding several specialty websites, including HRNewsDaily.com. His broad range includes covering news, local government, entertainment reviews, marketing and an advice column. Phil has served as editor and production manager for Extensive Enterprises Media since 2013 and lives in Tampa with his wife, visual artist Margaret Juul. He can be reached on Twitter @PhilAmmann or at [email protected].


Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch @PeterSchorschFL

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Drew Dixon, Roseanne Dunkelberger, A.G. Gancarski, Anne Geggis, Ryan Nicol, Jacob Ogles, Cole Pepper, Gray Rohrer, Jesse Scheckner, Christine Sexton, Drew Wilson, and Mike Wright.

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @PeterSchorschFL
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704

Sign up for Sunburn


This is default text for notification bar