Marva Johnson, Mori Hosseini join Ron DeSantis transition

DeSantis Transition 5 (3)

State Board Of Education Chair Marva Johnson and University Of Florida Board of Trustees member Mori Hosseini have agreed to co-chair Gov.-elect Ron DeSantis‘ Transition Advisory Committee on Education and Workforce Development, the transition team announced Thursday.

The committee “is comprised of a diverse group of education experts, including traditional K-12 public school system leaders, education advocates, elected school board members, academics and current and former leaders of Florida’s higher education system,” a press release said.

“These individuals will advise the Transition Team as they develop a plan to implement Governor-elect DeSantis’ vision of ensuring that every student in Florida has the chance to get a world-class education and develop the skills they need to get a great job and pursue their dream.”

The other members of the committee are:

Dr. Elizabeth M. Béjar, Vice President For Academic Affairs, Florida International University

Dr. Desmond Blackburn, CEO, New Teacher Center

Emily Bouck, Policy & Advocacy Director, Higher Learning Advocates

Bob Cortes, former state Representative

Brenda Dickinson, President, Home Education Foundation

Erika Donalds; former Collier County School Board Member

Aubrey Edge, President & CEO, First Coast Energy

T. Willard Fair, President & CEO, Urban League Of Greater Miami

Dr. Angela Garcia Falconetti, President, Polk State College

Dr. Alvin S. Felzenberg, Presidential Historian & Lecturer, Annenberg School for Communication, University Of Pennsylvania

Bruce Ferguson, President & CEO, Careersource Northeast Florida

Keith Flaugh, Managing Director, Florida Citizens Alliance

Don Gaetz, former Senate President

Robert Haag, President & CEO, Florida Consortium Of Public Charter Schools

Jonathan Hage, CEO Charter Schools USA

Greg Haile, President, Broward College

Bill Heavener, Chairman, University Of Florida Board Of Trustees

Warren Hudson, President, Lake Highland Preparatory School

Russell Hughes, Superintendent, Walton County School District

Dr. Allan I. Jacob, Chairman & Chief Medical Officer, Physicians Dialysis

Mimi Jankovits, Executive Director, Teach Florida

John Kirtley, Founder And Chairman, Step Up For Students

Eugene Lamb, Board Of Trustees, Tallahassee Community College

Craig Mateer, Founder & CEO, Bags, Inc.

Dr. Kim McDougal, education policy expert and lobbyist, former Chief of Staff to Gov. Rick Scott

Dr. Edward Meadows, President, Pensacola State College

Connie Milito, Chief Government Relations Officer, Hillsborough County Public Schools

Keli Mondello, Co-Founder & Board Chairman, Lift Academy

Steve Moore, President, The Vestcor Companies, Inc.

Dr. Ed Moore, President, Independent Colleges and Universities Of Florida

Lubby Navarro, Miami-Dade County School Board member

Lynn Norman-Teck, Executive Director, Florida Charter School Alliance

Dr. Madeline Pumariega, Former Chancellor of the Florida College System

Randle Richardson, CEO, Accelerated Learning Solutions

Lyn Stanfield, Strategic Relations Manager, Apple

The Rev. Rick Stevens, Managing Director, Florida Citizens Alliance

John Thrasher, former lawmaker and lobbyist, President of Florida State University

Andy Tuck, Vice Chairman, Florida State Board Of Education

Fernando Zulueta, President, Academica Corporation

Jim Rosica

Jim Rosica is the Tallahassee-based Senior Editor for Florida Politics. He previously was the Tampa Tribune’s statehouse reporter. Before that, he covered three legislative sessions in Florida for The Associated Press. Jim graduated from law school in 2009 after spending nearly a decade covering courts for the Tallahassee Democrat, including reporting on the 2000 presidential recount. He can be reached at [email protected].

One comment

  • Vicky

    December 7, 2018 at 1:44 pm

    And since he selected the most rabid gun control activist in the Fl legislature to be his Lt. Gov., we can be rest assured his school plan will most likely include disarming the rest of Florida’s law abiding citizens that Scott and Congress didn’t get to.

Comments are closed.


Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch @PeterSchorschFL

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Drew Dixon, Roseanne Dunkelberger, A.G. Gancarski, Anne Geggis, Ryan Nicol, Jacob Ogles, Cole Pepper, Gray Rohrer, Jesse Scheckner, Christine Sexton, Drew Wilson, and Mike Wright.

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @PeterSchorschFL
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704