Rick Scott doles out rural economic incentive dollars
Gov. Rick Scott approved nearly $30 million for the Florida Job Growth Grant Fund, funding an additional eight job-growth projects.


Gov. Rick Scott announced Thursday that $24 million in economic incentive and infrastructure dollars would be dispersed to 36 rural communities across the state.

Most of the money will be released via the Florida Small Cities Community Development Block Grant program, a collaboration between the Department of Economic Opportunity and the federal department of Housing and Urban Development.

Scott, a term-limited Naples Republican who will soon join the U.S. Senate, said that giving “small and rural communities the opportunity to make investments in infrastructure and housing programs is key to growing our economy.”

Cissy Proctor, Executive Director of DEO, said, “Supporting the economic development of Florida’s small and rural communities is vital to the continued growth of our diverse economy.

“I am proud of the work we are doing to make these important economic investments that are paving the way for a bright future for many Florida families,” Proctor added.

Cities getting payouts: Altha; Apalachicola; Avon Park; Baldwin; Bristol; Chipley; Clermont; DeSoto County; Esto; Flagler County; Florida City; Gilchrist County; Grand Ridge; Greenville;  Hamilton County; Hampton; Hardee County; Havana; Hawthorne; High Springs; Indian River County; Interlachen; Jay; Jefferson County; Newberry; Palatka; Paxton; Penney Farms; Quincy; Sebring; Trenton; Wausau; White Springs; Williston; and Zolfo Springs.

Arcadia also got $300,000 through the Rural Infrastructure Grant Fund for waterline improvements and to complete site development at the Arcadia Municipal Airport.

Staff Reports


Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch @PeterSchorschFL

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Drew Dixon, Roseanne Dunkelberger, A.G. Gancarski, Anne Geggis, Ryan Nicol, Jacob Ogles, Cole Pepper, Gray Rohrer, Jesse Scheckner, Christine Sexton, Drew Wilson, and Mike Wright.

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @PeterSchorschFL
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704