Three names for Transportation Secretary forwarded to Ron DeSantis
(Image via Colin Hackley)


Gov. Ron DeSantis will consider three former or current employees of the Florida Department of Transportation (FDOT) to be the next head of the state agency.

The Florida Transportation Commission (FTC), as required by law, agreed to a shortlist of contenders on Thursday after interviewing potentials for the job.

Richard Biter, Kevin Thibault and Phillip Gainer made the cut. The names won’t come to DeSantis with any hierarchy; all are considered equally viable.

Gainer, of Chipley, is a district secretary at FDOT. He began working for the agency in 2010, according to his work history provided to the FTC.

Thibault is a veteran of FDOT who currently works as the southeast regional vice president of TranSystems. POLITICO Florida previously reported that Thibault held a role in an illegal billboard permitting process during his time at the agency.

Biter is a former assistant secretary for intermodal systems at FDOT. He boasts more than 40 years of experience in the transportation industry.

As well, commissioners elected a new chair. Ron Howse will replace Jay Trumbull as the head of the nine-member panel. Trumbull will now act as vice chair.

The nine-member panel met in person and by phone on Wednesday to discuss 12 applicants who had sought the state agency gig. Commissioners shortened the crop of potentials to five before meeting again Thursday morning to conduct interviews.

No longer in consideration are Katharine Nees, a Texas-based transportation consultant with decades of experience in Texas’ transportation system, and Scott Collister, a transportation contractor with former ties to the agency.

DeSantis’ pick will be subject to Senate confirmation.

The last FDOT Secretary, Mike Dewresigned in December to take a job with DeSantis’ transition team. Erik Fenniman is serving as the interim Secretary.

Danny McAuliffe

Danny is a contributor at He is a graduate of Fordham Law School and Florida State University, where he served as the editor of the FSView & Florida Flambeau. Reach him at [email protected].


Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch @PeterSchorschFL

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Roseanne Dunkelberger, A.G. Gancarski, Anne Geggis, Ryan Nicol, Jacob Ogles, Cole Pepper, Gray Rohrer, Jesse Scheckner, Christine Sexton, Drew Wilson, and Mike Wright.

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @PeterSchorschFL
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704

Sign up for Sunburn