Upsets galore as TallyMadness heads into Sweet 16


The second round of TallyMadness has concluded, but not before a bundle of upsets took place.

The only 1-seed still in the mix is Matt Bryan of Smith Bryan & Myers. Nick Iarossi of Capital City Consulting lost to 9-seed Steve Shiver of The Advocacy Group by just seven votes, while Bill Rubin of Rubin Turnbull & Associates fell to No. 8 Hayden Dempsey of Greenberg Traurig.

The Cinderella run of Metz Husband & Daughton’s Alli Liby-Schoonover (16) continues. Liby-Schoonover moved past No. 9 Jason Unger of GrayRobinson.

The other matchups indicate 2019 may be another “Year of the Woman” — a half-dozen women made the round of 32, and five advanced. In addition to Liby-Schoonover, Ashley Kalifeh of Capital City Consulting, Katie Webb of Colodny Fass, Tracy Mayernick of The Mayernick Group and Heather Turnbull of Rubin Turnbull & Associates secured spots in the Sweet 16.

The third round of TallyMadness, sponsored by Table 23, is underway. The next round of voting ends 1 p.m. Friday.

The full results of round two:

— (3) Tracy Mayernick of The Mayernick Group defeated (6) Teye Reeves of Smith Bryan & Myers

— (14) Scott Dick of SKD Consulting Group defeated (11) Jon Costello of Rutledge Ecenia

— (7) Gus Corbella of Greenberg Traurig defeated (15) Stephanie Smith

— (7) Brewster Bevis defeated (2) Travis Blanton of Johnson & Blanton

— (6) Rhett O’Doski of McGuireWoods Consulting defeated (3) Ron LaFace of Capital City Consulting

— (1) Matt Bryan of Smith Bryan & Myers defeated (8) Chris Moya of Dean Mead

— (3) Mark Delegal of Holland & Knight defeated (11) Tim Meenan of Meenan PA

— (9) Steve Shiver of The Advocacy Group defeated (1) Nick Iarossi of Capital City Consulting

— (5) Katie Webb of Colodny Fass defeated  (4) Fred Karlinsky of Greenberg Traurig

— (16) Alli Liby-Schoonover of Metz Husband & Daughton defeated (9) Jason Unger of GrayRobinson

— (13) Marc Reichelderfer of Landmarc Strategies defeated (5) Slater Bayliss of The Advocacy Group

— (4) Jim Daughton of Metz Husband & Daughton defeated (12) Will McKinley of PooleMcKinley

— (10) Darrick McGhee of Johnson & Blanton defeated (2) Chris Dudley of Southern Strategy Group

— (8) Hayden Dempsey of Greenberg Traurig defeated (1) Bill Rubin of Rubin Turnbull & Associates

— (4) Heather Turnbull of Rubin Turnbull & Associates defeated (12) Frank Walker

— (15) Ashley Kalifeh of Capital City Consulting defeated (7) John Holley

Peter Schorsch

Peter Schorsch is the President of Extensive Enterprises Media and is the publisher of, INFLUENCE Magazine, and Sunburn, the morning read of what’s hot in Florida politics. Previous to his publishing efforts, Peter was a political consultant to dozens of congressional and state campaigns, as well as several of the state’s largest governmental affairs and public relations firms. Peter lives in St. Petersburg with his wife, Michelle, and their daughter, Ella. Follow Peter on Twitter @PeterSchorschFL.


Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch @PeterSchorschFL

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Roseanne Dunkelberger, A.G. Gancarski, Anne Geggis, Kelly Hayes, Ryan Nicol, Jacob Ogles, Gray Rohrer, Jesse Scheckner, Christine Sexton, Andrew Wilson, Wes Wolfe, and Mike Wright.

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @PeterSchorschFL
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704

Sign up for Sunburn