Ron DeSantis’ picks for Miami Dade College Board zip through Senate panel
Image via Flickr by Phillip Pessar.

Miami Dade College
Anay Abraham, Carlos Migoya approved by Senate Ethics and Elections Committee

In a brief hearing Monday, the Senate Ethics and Elections Committee voted to advance the nominations of Dr. Anay Abraham and Carlos Migoya to serve on the Miami Dade College Board of Trustees.

Abraham and Migoya are two of five nominees selected by DeSantis to serve on the board in late March. Their nominations will now be sent to the full Senate for approval.

Abraham is the managing director of Developmental & External Relations at City Year Miami. She was selected by DeSantis to serve a full four-year term on the Board.

Migoya, however, will be filling a term with only two years remaining. He’s currently working as the president and CEO of the Jackson Health System. Migoya also has experience as the City Manager for the City of Miami and as Board Chair of the United Way of Miami-Dade.

Neither nominee appeared before the committee Monday. Instead, the panel held an approximately two-minute long meeting to quickly vote the pair through.

Along with Abraham and Migoya, DeSantis also chose former State Rep. Michael Belica, lawyer Marcell Felipe and President and COO of Leon Medical Centers Benjamin Leon III to sit on the Board.

“Florida’s college system is important and Miami Dade College exemplifies leadership on many levels which will be guided by its trustees,” DeSantis said upon naming his nominees.

The selections to the Board come as the body attempts to replace Miami Dade College President Eduardo Padrón, who is retiring.

Ryan Nicol

Ryan Nicol covers news out of South Florida for Florida Politics. Ryan is a native Floridian who attended undergrad at Nova Southeastern University before moving on to law school at Florida State. After graduating with a law degree he moved into the news industry, working in TV News as a writer and producer, along with some freelance writing work. If you'd like to contact him, send an email to [email protected]


Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch @PeterSchorschFL

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Jason Delgado, Renzo Downey, Daniel Figueroa, A.G. Gancarski, Anne Geggis, Kelly Hayes, Joe Henderson, Ryan Nicol, Jacob Ogles, Scott Powers, Gray Rohrer, Jesse Scheckner, Christine Sexton, Andrew Wilson, Mike Wright, and Tristan Wood.

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @PeterSchorschFL
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704

Sign up for Sunburn