Ron DeSantis orders flags at half-staff to honor victims of Pulse shooting

”The entire state of Florida has come together to stand boldly with Orlando.“

Gov. Ron DeSantis ordered flags at half-staff on Wednesday to honor the victims of the June 12, 2016, Pulse nightclub shooting in Orlando.

The Governor asked “all residents of Florida to pause for a moment of silence” at 9 a.m. and directed all state flags in Florida to be lowered to half-staff from sunrise to sunset.

The Governor’s Office released the following proclamation on Tuesday, which also re-establishes a “Pulse Remembrance Day”:

“WHEREAS, on June 12, 2016, 49 innocent lives were taken when an ISIS-inspired terrorist targeted our state and the Pulse Nightclub in Orlando; and

“WHEREAS, we honor the lives of Stanley Almodovar III, Amanda Alvear, Oscar A. Aracena-Montero, Rodolfo Ayala-Ayala, Alejandro Barrios Martinez, Martin Benitez Torres, Antonio D. Brown, Darryl R. Burt II, Jonathan A. Camuy Vega, Angel L. Candelario-Padro, Simon A. Carrillo Fernandez, Juan Chevez-Martinez, Luis D. Conde, Cory J. Connell, Tevin E. Crosby, Franky J. Dejsus Velazquez, Deonka D. Drayton, Mercedez M. Flores, Peter O. Gonzalez-Cruz, Juan R. Guerroero, Paul T. Henry, Frank Hernandez, Miguel A. Honorato, Javier Jorge-Reyes, Jason B. Josaphat, Eddie J. Justice, Anthony L. Laureano Disla, Christopher A. Leinonen, Brenda L. Marquez McCool, Jean C. Mendez Perez, Akyra Monet Murray, Kimberly Morris, Jean C. Nieves Rodriguez, Luis O Ocasio-Capo, Geraldo A. Ortiz-Jimenez, Eric Ivan Ortiz-Rivera, Joel Rayon Paniagua, Enrique L. Rios Jr., Juan P. Rivera Velazquez, Yilmary Rodirguez Solivan, Christopher J. Sanfeliz, Xavier Emmanuel Serrano Rosado, Gilberto Ramon Silva Menendez, Edward Sotomayor Jr., Shane E. Tomlinson, Leroy Valetnin Fernandez, Luis S. Vielma, Luis Daniel Wilson-Leon, Jeral A. Wright; and

“WHEREAS, the State of Florida mourns the loss of life and ensures that the victims of this senseless tragedy will never be forgotten; and

“WHEREAS, the entire state of Florida has come together to stand boldly with Orlando and the Central Florida community against terrorism; and

“WHEREAS, we are grateful for the extraordinary efforts of our first responders who were on the scene within minutes to provide assistance to the injured and victims of the shooting; and

“WHEREAS, we should express our profound sympathy to the families who lost loved ones during this tragic incident and remember that Floridians are resilient and will remain united even during the darkest times of our State’s history; and

“NOW, THEREFORE, I, Ron DeSantis, Governor of the State of Florida, by virtue of the power and authority vested in me by 4 U.S.C. § 7(m), as amended on June 29, 2007, and the laws and Constitution of the State of Florida, do hereby:

  1. Acknowledge June 12th as Pulse Remembrance Day in Florida in recognition of the 49 innocent lives lost in the horrific attack on Pulse Nightclub in 2016; and
  2. Establish June 12th as a day of remembrance to pay tribute to the 49 innocent lives lost at Pulse Nightclub; and
  3. Ask all residents of Florida to pause for a moment of silence at 9 a.m. on Wednesday, June 12, 2019; and
  4. Direct all State flags in Florida to be lowered to half-staff from sunrise to sunset on Wednesday, June 12, 2019.

Staff Reports


Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch @PeterSchorschFL

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Renzo Downey, Roseanne Dunkelberger, A.G. Gancarski, Anne Geggis, Kelly Hayes, Joe Henderson, Ryan Nicol, Jacob Ogles, Scott Powers, Gray Rohrer, Aimee Sachs, Jesse Scheckner, Christine Sexton, Andrew Wilson, Wes Wolfe, and Mike Wright.

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @PeterSchorschFL
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704

Sign up for Sunburn