Mail ballots for St. Pete City Council elections head to voters

Let the voting begin.

Mail ballots are heading to St. Petersburg voters this week for City Council races on the Aug. 27 ballot. 

The Pinellas County Supervisor of Elections on Tuesday mailed 26,402 ballots to domestic voters in the city.

Ballots were sent to those who had already requested them or whose voting preference request mail ballots in all elections. 

Eligible voters can still request a ballot on the Supervisor of Elections website or by calling 727-464-VOTE (8683) or emailing [email protected]. The deadline to request that a ballot is 5:00 p.m. on Saturday, August 17.

Mail ballots must be received at one of the three Pinellas County Elections Offices by 7:00 p.m. on Election Day. The Pinellas County Supervisor of Elections suggests allowing at least one week for ballots to be returned.

Voters cannot turn in mail ballots at their polling places. 

For the primary election, voters will only cast a ballot for candidates running for the district in which they reside. City Council districts 1, 3, 5 and 7 are up for election this year. 

City Council member Ed Montanari is seeking reelection in District 3 against Zac Collins and Orlando Acosta. Five candidates are running for Steve Kornell’s District 5 seat, which he is leaving due to term limits. Those include Deborah Figgs-Sanders, Beth Connor, Trenia Cox, Anne Hirsch and Phil Garrett. Lisa Wheeler-Bowman is running for reelection in District 7 against Chico Cromartie, Sarah Elizabeth Moore and Eritha “Akile” Cainion

Candidates Robert Blackmon and John Hornbeck are running to replace outgoing Council member Charlie Gerdes in District 1. Because their race only includes two candidates, they will not be on next month’s ballot and instead will be on the November 5 general election ballot

St. Petersburg voters citywide will vote on the top two vote getters in each race in the general election.

City Council races have so far been quiet, but with mail ballots heading out, campaigning activity is likely to start amping up. 

Daily ballot requests, ballot mailing updates and statistics on voted ballots received by the Supervisor of Elections are posted on the Supervisor’s website

Janelle Irwin Taylor

Janelle Irwin Taylor has been a professional journalist covering local news and politics in Tampa Bay since 2003. Most recently, Janelle reported for the Tampa Bay Business Journal. She formerly served as senior reporter for WMNF News. Janelle has a lust for politics and policy. When she’s not bringing you the day’s news, you might find Janelle enjoying nature with her husband, children and two dogs. You can reach Janelle at [email protected]


Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch @PeterSchorschFL

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Renzo Downey, Roseanne Dunkelberger, A.G. Gancarski, Anne Geggis, Kelly Hayes, Joe Henderson, Ryan Nicol, Jacob Ogles, Scott Powers, Gray Rohrer, Aimee Sachs, Jesse Scheckner, Christine Sexton, Andrew Wilson, and Mike Wright.

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @PeterSchorschFL
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704

Sign up for Sunburn