Chad Harrod appointed to Port Tampa Bay

port tampa bay
Harrod is CEO of Harrod Properties.

Gov. Ron DeSantis appointed Chad Harrod to the Port Tampa Bay Board of Directors Tuesday.


Harrod is the chief executive officer of Harrod Properties. The company and its affiliated companies have developed more than 17 million square feet of office, industrial and medical space in Florida, Texas, Tennessee and the Carolinas. 

Among the company’s properties is the Medical Village of Tampa on Hillsborough Avenue. The company completely redesigned the former Sweetbay grocery store into a 56,000-square-foot Class A medical facility that includes clinical, imaging, urgent care and surgery services. 

Harrod is responsible for managing the companies as well as corporate advancement, strategic planning and client relations.

He joined the company in 2002. Prior to that he worked in investment banking with J.P. Morgan in both Atlanta and New York City.

Harrod also sits on boards for Dex Imaging, the National Pediatric Cancer Foundation, Academy Prep, St. Mary’s Episcopal Day School, the Florida Chapter of The Young Presidents Organization and the Florida Council of 100.

His appointment is for a four-year term and is subject to confirmation by the state Senate.

Janelle Irwin Taylor

Janelle Irwin Taylor has been a professional journalist covering local news and politics in Tampa Bay since 2003. Most recently, Janelle reported for the Tampa Bay Business Journal. She formerly served as senior reporter for WMNF News. Janelle has a lust for politics and policy. When she’s not bringing you the day’s news, you might find Janelle enjoying nature with her husband, children and two dogs. You can reach Janelle at [email protected]


Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Jason Delgado, Drew Dixon, Renzo Downey, Rick Flagg, A.G. Gancarski, Joe Henderson, Janelle Irwin, Ryan Nicol, Jacob Ogles, Scott Powers, Andrew Wilson, and Kelly Hayes.

Email: [email protected]
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704