It’s not the party, it’s the after party: Here’s where St. Pete City Council candidates will be celebrating on election night

election party
Win or lose, drinks will be flowing.

After months of campaigning candidates in four St. Petersburg City Council races are ready to pop the champagne Tuesday night.

Win or lose, candidates typically host election night celebrations at their favorite places to thank supporters and offer a cheers to all of the efforts that go into running a campaign from pounding the pavement to talk to voters to raising funds to pay for outreach efforts.

At the end of the night, candidates hope to offer a rousing victory speech. Some will instead deliver concession speeches.

Win or lose, here’s where this year’s eight candidates will be celebrating.

District 1, west St. Pete

Robert Blackmon — Trophy Fish, 2060 Central Ave., 6:30-8:30 p.m.

John Hornbeck — Iberian Rooster, 475 Central Ave., 6:30-8:30 p.m.

District 3, northeast St. Pete

Ed Montanari — 400 Beach Seafood, 400 Beach Drive, 6:30-8:30 p.m.

Orlando Acosta — Pinellas County Democratic Headquarters, 2250 First Ave. North

District 5, south St. Pete

Deborah Figgs-Sanders — Magnuson Hotel and Marina, 6800 Sunshine Skyway Lane, 6-9 p.m.

Trenia Cox — Ferg’s Sports Bar & Grill, 1320 Central Ave., 7 p.m.

District 7, south St. Pete

Lisa Wheeler-Bowman — Punky’s Bar and Grill, 3063 Central Ave., 6:30-8:30 p.m.

Eritha “Akile” Cainion — Campaign office, 2721 18th Ave. S., 7:30 p.m.

Janelle Irwin Taylor

Janelle Irwin Taylor has been a professional journalist covering local news and politics in Tampa Bay since 2003. Most recently, Janelle reported for the Tampa Bay Business Journal. She formerly served as senior reporter for WMNF News. Janelle has a lust for politics and policy. When she’s not bringing you the day’s news, you might find Janelle enjoying nature with her husband, children and two dogs. You can reach Janelle at [email protected]


Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch @PeterSchorschFL

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Jason Delgado, Renzo Downey, Daniel Figueroa, A.G. Gancarski, Anne Geggis, Kelly Hayes, Joe Henderson, Ryan Nicol, Jacob Ogles, Scott Powers, Gray Rohrer, Jesse Scheckner, Christine Sexton, Andrew Wilson, Mike Wright, and Tristan Wood.

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @PeterSchorschFL
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704

Sign up for Sunburn