John Mina wins Orange County Sheriff primary

John Mina 3
None of four Democratic challengers came close.

Orange County Sheriff John Mina was essentially reelected Tuesday when he thrashed four Democrats trying to take him on in the primary.

Mina, the former Orlando Police Chief who was elected to a partial term in 2018 to replace Jerry Demings, who left to become Orange County Mayor, held a 35-point lead over the other Democrats after early voting and mail-in votes were counted Tuesday.

The lead would be insurmountable, considering the Election Day voting represents a small portion of those Orange County Democrats who cast ballots in the primary.

Mina faces two write-in candidates who qualified for the November ballot. Barring a miracle, neither would have a chance to stop his reelection being formalized in the general election.

Tuesday’s early-voting and mail voting gave Mina a 48,000-vote lead over retired Florida Highway Patrol Chief Joe Lopez and Andrew Darling, a lawyer who was running on a criminal justice reform platform. There were only 52,000 votes cast on Election Day yet to be tabulated.

Also running were former Eatonville Police Chief Eric McIntyre and Darryl Sheppard.

Scott Powers

Scott Powers is an Orlando-based political journalist with 30+ years’ experience, mostly at newspapers such as the Orlando Sentinel and the Columbus Dispatch. He covers local, state and federal politics and space news across much of Central Florida. His career earned numerous journalism awards for stories ranging from the Space Shuttle Columbia disaster to presidential elections to misplaced nuclear waste. He and his wife Connie have three grown children. Besides them, he’s into mystery and suspense books and movies, rock, blues, basketball, baseball, writing unpublished novels, and being amused. Email him at [email protected].


Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch @PeterSchorschFL

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Drew Dixon, Roseanne Dunkelberger, A.G. Gancarski, Anne Geggis, Ryan Nicol, Jacob Ogles, Cole Pepper, Gray Rohrer, Jesse Scheckner, Christine Sexton, Drew Wilson, and Mike Wright.

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @PeterSchorschFL
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704