Angie Gardner ousts Eddie Cole in Eatonville mayoral election

Angie Gardner
Gardner, a Town Council Member, defeats Cole in a rematch of the 2020 election.

Orlando Town Council Member Angie Gardner has been elected Mayor of Eatonville, toppling Mayor Eddie Cole.

Gardner soundly defeated Cole 57% to 43% in what was a rematch of their 2018 contest for the historic town.

Cole initially was elected in 2016 to fill an unfinished term, won re-election in 2018 over Gardner, and was seeking a second-full term.

In other Eatonville contests, Wanda Randolph was elected to succeed Gardner for the Town Council Seat 5, while incumbent Town Council Members Theo Washington and Rodney Daniels won reelections for Seat 2 and Seat 3 respectively.

Randolph defeated Marilyn Sconions. Washington defeated Angela Thomas and Ruth Critton. Daniels defeated Tarus Mack.

Eatonville’s elections lead off a four-day stretch in which Orange County also will see a mayoral election and two contested City Council elections in Apopka; two City Commission elections in Winter Park; a mayoral election in Belle Isle; a City Council election in Maitland; and a Town Council election in Oakland.

The Apopka, Winter Park, Belle Isle, Maitland and Oakland municipal elections will all be held Tuesday.

In Apopka, the mayoral race has been one of the most contentious in the county, with former state Representative and former Orange County Commissioner Mayor Bryan Nelson seeking re-election to a second term, challenged by two-term City Commissioner Kyle Becker.

Apopka also has two City Commission contests. Incumbent Diane Velazquez is seeking re-election to her Seat 2 and is facing off against Wes Dumey.

Eric Mock and Nick Nesta are battling for the Commission’s Seat 4, being vacated by Becker.

In Winter Park, Commissioner Todd Weaver is seeking a second term for the City Commission Seat 4, and is being challenged by Elijah Noel.

Kristopher Cruzada and former Orange County Commission candidate Anjali Vaya are battling for the Commission’s Seat 4, which is being vacated by Carolyn Cooper.

In Belle Isle, Mayor Nicholas Fouraker is being challenged by Holly Bobrowski.

Three Belle Isle council members will be re-elected to new terms without opposition: District 2 Councilman Anthony Carugno, District 3 Councilman Karl Shuck and District 4 Councilman Randy Holihan.

In Maitland, three candidates, Bev Reopen, Colleen Willing and Lori Wurtzel, are vying for City Council Seat 1, which is being vacated by Councilman Mike Thomas.

In Oakland, Commissioner Rick Pollard’s bid for re-election to Town Council Seat 1 is being challenged by Matthew Bunevich.

For Seat 4, Commissioner Joseph Mcullen will be re-elected without opposition.

Scott Powers

Scott Powers is an Orlando-based political journalist with 30+ years’ experience, mostly at newspapers such as the Orlando Sentinel and the Columbus Dispatch. He covers local, state and federal politics and space news across much of Central Florida. His career earned numerous journalism awards for stories ranging from the Space Shuttle Columbia disaster to presidential elections to misplaced nuclear waste. He and his wife Connie have three grown children. Besides them, he’s into mystery and suspense books and movies, rock, blues, basketball, baseball, writing unpublished novels, and being amused. Email him at [email protected].


Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch @PeterSchorschFL

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Drew Dixon, Roseanne Dunkelberger, A.G. Gancarski, Anne Geggis, Ryan Nicol, Jacob Ogles, Cole Pepper, Gray Rohrer, Jesse Scheckner, Christine Sexton, Drew Wilson, and Mike Wright.

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @PeterSchorschFL
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704

Sign up for Sunburn