Sean Pittman snags Orange Bowl committee leadership post


Tallahassee lawyer and lobbyist Sean Pittman was elected second vice-chair of the Orange Bowl Committee this week. The move puts him in line to assume the presidency of the committee for the 2018-19 college bowl season, when the Orange Bowl will host a semifinal game in the College Football Playoff.

“I am humbled that my fellow OBC members have entrusted me to serve in an even deeper capacity as second vice chair,” Pittman said Friday. “I’ve enjoyed the meaningful opportunity to witness and participate in the vital mission work of the OBC, beyond college football, that actively and positively engages our youth in healthy pursuits, while also providing a healthy boost to South Florida’s economy. I look forward to working with our dedicated membership as the OBC continues to serve our community so well.”

Pittman brings a great deal of North Florida gravitas to the Miami Gardens bowl game and the apparatus around it. As principal of lobbying and legal practice of the Pittman Law Group, president of the branding firm ESPMedia Productions, and host of the weekly public affairs talk show “The Usual Suspects,” the Florida State alum brings unusual political clout to the sporting endeavor.

Pittman has sat on the committee, which hosts the eponymous annual college bowl game as well as the MetroPCS Orange Bowl BasketballClassic, Orange Bowl Youth Football Alliance presented by Sports Authority, Orange Bowl International Tennis Championships, Orange Bowl International Youth Regatta, Orange Bowl Swim Classic, and OrangeBowl Paddle Championships — for more than 10 years.

Ryan Ray

Ryan Ray covers politics and public policy in North Florida and across the state. He has also worked as a legislative researcher and political campaign staffer. He can be reached at [email protected].


Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch @PeterSchorschFL

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Drew Dixon, Roseanne Dunkelberger, A.G. Gancarski, Anne Geggis, Ryan Nicol, Jacob Ogles, Cole Pepper, Gray Rohrer, Jesse Scheckner, Christine Sexton, Drew Wilson, and Mike Wright.

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @PeterSchorschFL
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704

Sign up for Sunburn


This is default text for notification bar