Tag: Discretionary Sales Surtax
Nikki Haley in Iowa. Image via AP.

A.G. GancarskiMay 10, 2016

Clay County’s legislative delegation contains just three people: Sen. Rob Bradley and Reps. Travis Cummings and Charles Van Zant. At a Clay County Chamber of Commerce breakfast in Orange Park Tuesday, the three men celebrated successes across the board, both in terms of their performance during the Session and the county’s emergence as a force in its own right. During […]

A.G. GancarskiFebruary 24, 2016

Wednesday saw the Jacksonville-centric Discretionary Sales Surtax bill clear the Senate Rules Committee (SB 1652), scheduled at the same time as the third reading in the House (HB 1297). Central to the pitch: bill sponsor Rob Bradley and Mayor Lenny Curry, whose sales job gets better with every committee stop… especially important because Curry will have to sell […]

A.G. GancarskiFebruary 19, 2016

The next date to watch for the Discretionary Sales Surtax bill (CS/CS/SB 1652), Jacksonville’s attempt to extend its half-cent Better Jacksonville Plan tax through 2060, is Tuesday. The “pension tax” bill, designed to address the city’s Unfunded Pension Liability, has been added to the Special Order Calendar. Worth noting: Tia Mitchell noted in her reporting this […]

A.G. GancarskiFebruary 16, 2016

Tuesday afternoon finds Jacksonville Mayor Lenny Curry “headed back over to Tallahassee” to sell the pension tax bill, he told FloridaPolitics.com. Though the “Discretionary Sales Surtax” bill is not up for any committee hearings this week, Curry plans “individual meetings” with lawmakers. The next stop for the bill, Jacksonville’s plan to deal with the unfunded pension liability, […]


Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch @PeterSchorschFL

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Roseanne Dunkelberger, A.G. Gancarski, Anne Geggis, Kelly Hayes, Ryan Nicol, Jacob Ogles, Gray Rohrer, Jesse Scheckner, Christine Sexton, Andrew Wilson, Wes Wolfe, and Mike Wright.

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @PeterSchorschFL
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704

Sign up for Sunburn