GOP commentator Noelle Nikpour latest candidate to enter CD 18 race


Noelle Nikpour, an Arkansas-based GOP fundraiser and frequent Fox News analyst, is the latest candidate for the CD18 seat being vacated by Jupiter Democrat Patrick Murphy in 2016. Murphy is running for the U.S. Senate.

“I am not a politician,” Nikpour said in a statement. “If you want to fix Washington you cannot keep sending politicians to DC. It’s time to fix Washington by bringing back common sense conservatism.”

Nikpour also contributes column with the South Florida Sun-Sentinel, the Washington Times and other online publications.  She becomes (at least) the 12th candidate to enter the race, and the 8th Republican to do so.

Other Republicans in the race include Martin County school board member Rebecca Negron,  former state Rep. Carl Domino, St. Lucie County Commissioner Tod Mowery, retired U.S. Army bomb tech Brian Mast, financial adviser Paul Spain, Navy veteran and nurse Carla Spaulding, and attorney/activist Rick Kozell. Democrats in the race include Palm Beach County Commissioners Melissa McKinlay and Priscilla Taylor, retired Stuart engineer John Xuna, and Palm Beach Gardens lawyer Jonathan Chane.

Mitch Perry

Mitch Perry has been a reporter with Extensive Enterprises since November of 2014. Previously, he served five years as political editor of the alternative newsweekly Creative Loafing. Mitch also was assistant news director with WMNF 88.5 FM in Tampa from 2000-2009, and currently hosts MidPoint, a weekly talk show, on WMNF on Thursday afternoons. He began his reporting career at KPFA radio in Berkeley and is a San Francisco native who has lived in Tampa since 2000. Mitch can be reached at [email protected]


Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch @PeterSchorschFL

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Renzo Downey, Roseanne Dunkelberger, A.G. Gancarski, Anne Geggis, Kelly Hayes, Joe Henderson, Ryan Nicol, Jacob Ogles, Gray Rohrer, Jesse Scheckner, Christine Sexton, Andrew Wilson, Wes Wolfe, and Mike Wright.

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @PeterSchorschFL
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704

Sign up for Sunburn