Danny Alvarez appointed to Tampa Hillsborough Expressway Authority

alvarez, danny3

On Friday, Governor Rick Scott announced the appointment of Daniel Alvarez and the reappointment of Rebecca Smith to the Tampa Hillsborough Expressway Authority.

Alvarez, of Seffner, is a managing member of The Alvarez Legal Group and an adjunct professor at the University of Tampa. He is the current Tampa Hispanic Heritage Hispanic Man of the Year. He previously served as a member of the Hillsborough Children’s Services Advisory Board.

He succeeds Curtis Stokes and is appointed for a term beginning October 30, 2015, and ending July 1, 2017.

Smith, of Tampa, is the president and owner of The AD Morgan Corporation and the founder and president of WoofGang Solutions. She currently serves as a member of Leadership Florida and is a previous recipient of the Ernst and Young Entrepreneur of the Year for real estate and construction. She previously served as a member of the PRIDE Board of Directors, the chair of both the City of Tampa Variance Review Board and the Governor’s Council for Small and Minority Business.

She is reappointed for a term beginning October 30, 2015, and ending July 1, 2019.

The appointments are subject to confirmation by the Florida Senate.

Peter Schorsch

Peter Schorsch is the President of Extensive Enterprises and is the publisher of some of Florida’s most influential new media websites, including Florida Politics and Sunburn, the morning read of what’s hot in Florida politics. Schorsch is also the publisher of INFLUENCE Magazine. For several years, Peter's blog was ranked by the Washington Post as the best state-based blog in Florida. In addition to his publishing efforts, Peter is a political consultant to several of the state’s largest governmental affairs and public relations firms. Peter lives in St. Petersburg with his wife, Michelle, and their daughter, Ella.


Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch @PeterSchorschFL

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Drew Dixon, Roseanne Dunkelberger, A.G. Gancarski, Anne Geggis, Ryan Nicol, Jacob Ogles, Cole Pepper, Gray Rohrer, Jesse Scheckner, Christine Sexton, Drew Wilson, and Mike Wright.

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @PeterSchorschFL
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704