Jeff Kottkamp named to finish Fred Leonhardt’s term on FAPL board


On Monday, former Lt. Gov. Jeff Kottkamp was appointed to the board of directors for the Florida Association of Professional Lobbyists.

Kottkamp, a three-time Florida House member who served from 2007 to 2011 as the state’s 17th lieutenant governor, will fill the remaining term of FAPL Board Member Fred Leonhardt.

Leonhardt died suddenly last month.

“We are very honored to add Lt. Governor Kottkamp to the FAPL board of directors,” said FAPL Chair David Mica. “Fred Leonhardt’s passing has created a void and he will never be replaced. However, my fellow board members and I are confident in the Lt. Governor’s abilities and dedication to this organization.”

Candidates for the 2016 FAPL board of directors will also be announced this month.

As Lt. Governor, Kottkamp served as Chair of Florida’s Children and Youth, Space Florida and the Florida Sports Foundation. He also oversaw the Governor’s Office of Adoption and Child Protection, the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, as well as the Governor’s Office of Drug Control. Kottkamp is currently president of Jeff Kottkamp, P.A., a Tallahassee-based law firm specializing in government relations.

Phil Ammann

Phil Ammann is a Tampa Bay-area journalist, editor and writer. With more than three decades of writing, editing, reporting and management experience, Phil produced content for both print and online, in addition to founding several specialty websites, including His broad range includes covering news, local government, entertainment reviews, marketing and an advice column. Phil has served as editor and production manager for Extensive Enterprises Media since 2013 and lives in Tampa with his wife, visual artist Margaret Juul. He can be reached at [email protected]


Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Jason Delgado, Drew Dixon, Renzo Downey, Rick Flagg, A.G. Gancarski, Joe Henderson, Janelle Irwin, Ryan Nicol, Jacob Ogles, Scott Powers, Andrew Wilson, and Kelly Hayes.

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @PeterSchorschFL
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704