Marco Rubio’s National Security team includes post-9/11 GOP heavy hitters

Marco Rubio

Monday, the Marco Rubio for President campaign announced Rubio’s National Security Advisory Council, which will lend “considerable expertise to Marco’s efforts to make the case for American leadership in an increasingly uncertain world.”

Among the major players on the team, which has a distinctly post-9/11 Republican feel, are Elliott Abrams, former Deputy National Security Adviser for Global Democracy Strategy; Michael Chertoff, former Secretary of Homeland Security; and Eliot Cohen, former Counselor of the Department of State.

Quite a few members of the team offered statements, and typical of them was this from Abrams: “From Cuba and Venezuela to Russia, Iran, and China, Marco has always fought to ensure that the United States is on the side of those who are oppressed. He has an innate understanding of America’s important role in supporting freedom and standing up to tyranny. As President he would ensure that our allies respect us again and our enemies fear us.”

Other members of the team:

  • U.S. Sen. Norm Coleman
  • Ambassador Paula Dobriansky, former Under Secretary of State for Democracy and Global Affairs
  • Ambassador Eric Edelman, former Under Secretary of Defense for Policy
  • Aaron Friedberg, former Deputy National Security Advisor to the Vice President
  • Kim Holmes, former Assistant Secretary of State for International Organization Affairs
  • Ambassador Robert Joseph, former Under Secretary of State for Arms Control and International Security
  • U.S. Sen. Jon Kyl
  • John Lehman, former Secretary of the Navy
  • Michael Mukasey, former Attorney General
  • Andrew Natsios, former Administrator of the U.S. Agency for International Development
  • Dan Senor, former Senior Adviser and Chief Spokesman, Coalition in Iraq
  • Ambassador Kristen Silverberg, former Ambassador to the European Union
  • U.S. Sen. Jim Talent
  • Dov Zakheim, former Under Secretary of Defense (Comptroller)

A.G. Gancarski

A.G. Gancarski has written for since 2014. He is based in Northeast Florida. He can be reached at [email protected] or on Twitter: @AGGancarski


Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch @PeterSchorschFL

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Roseanne Dunkelberger, A.G. Gancarski, Anne Geggis, Kelly Hayes, Ryan Nicol, Jacob Ogles, Gray Rohrer, Jesse Scheckner, Christine Sexton, Andrew Wilson, Wes Wolfe, and Mike Wright.

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @PeterSchorschFL
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704

Sign up for Sunburn