Sandy Murman opts out of run for Florida Senate


Hillsborough County Commissioner Sandy Murman has decided to stay put after all, and will not run challenge Dana Young in the newly created state Senate 18 seat.

That information was first published by the Tampa Bay Times.

Murman, who was in the state Legislature from 1996 to 2004, has been on the Board of County Commissioners since 2010, and is running for re-election for her District 1 seat.

But when a newly created Senate map included a brand-new district in the county this January, Murman said she would seriously contemplate running for it. She said that even after Young had jumped out first to announce her candidacy for the seat.

“I am looking at it,” Murman told this reporter then, and repeated that she was still undecided about her future as recently as two weeks ago.

Young already has raised more than $264,000 for the race. Much of that money was for her re-election bid for House District 60, which she transferred to her Senate campaign fund.

The newly drawn up Senate District 18 seat encompasses west Hillsborough County, extending from MacDill Air Force Base north to Pasco County. Murman’s current County Commission District 1 seat covers south and western Hillsborough.

The Democratic establishment in Tallahassee was pushing hard for Tampa House Democrat Janet Cruz to enter the race, but she ultimately opted to stay in the House, where she will be Minority Leader in 2017.

Mitch Perry

Mitch Perry has been a reporter with Extensive Enterprises since November of 2014. Previously, he served five years as political editor of the alternative newsweekly Creative Loafing. Mitch also was assistant news director with WMNF 88.5 FM in Tampa from 2000-2009, and currently hosts MidPoint, a weekly talk show, on WMNF on Thursday afternoons. He began his reporting career at KPFA radio in Berkeley and is a San Francisco native who has lived in Tampa since 2000. Mitch can be reached at [email protected]


Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Jason Delgado, Renzo Downey, Rick Flagg, A.G. Gancarski, Anne Geggis, Joe Henderson, Janelle Irwin, Ryan Nicol, Jacob Ogles, Jesse Scheckner, Scott Powers, Andrew Wilson, and Kelly Hayes.

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @PeterSchorschFL
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704

Sign up for Sunburn