Rick Scott makes more judicial appointments

judicial nominations flip

Gov. Rick Scott appointed Michelle L. Naberhaus and Thomas J. Brown to the Brevard County Court.

Naberhaus, a 41-year-old Merritt Island resident, has practiced with Dean Mean P.A. since 2015.

From 2013 until 2015, she was a sole practitioner for Michelle L. Naberhaus P.L.

Previously, she was a shareholder with the GrayRobinson firm. Naberhaus fills a vacancy created by Cathleen B. Clarke’s resignation.

Brown, a 52-year-old Melbourne resident, is an assistant state attorney for the State Attorney’s Office in the 18th Judicial Circuit.

He was previously an attorney for the Law Office of Howard Allen. He fills a vacancy created by John C. Murphy‘s removal from the bench.

Murphy was caught on courtroom video berating and threatening to fight an assistant public defender.

The incident was widely reported by state and national news media, causing the Florida judicial system “to become a national embarrassment,” investigators said.

Scott also appointed Susan H. Rothstein-Youakim to the Second District Court of Appeal.

The 46-year-old Tampa resident has been an Assistant United States Attorney for the United States Attorney’s Office in the Middle District of Florida since 1995.

She fills a vacancy created by the resignation of Judge Chris W. Altenbernd.

Staff Reports


Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch @PeterSchorschFL

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Drew Dixon, Roseanne Dunkelberger, A.G. Gancarski, Anne Geggis, Ryan Nicol, Jacob Ogles, Cole Pepper, Gray Rohrer, Jesse Scheckner, Christine Sexton, Drew Wilson, and Mike Wright.

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @PeterSchorschFL
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704