Ed Narain qualifies for ballot in SD 19 race via petition


Tampa state house Representative Ed Narain announced on Friday that he has become the fastest candidate in the Senate District 19 race to qualify via petitions, doing so in 72 days.

“After being asked by members of the community to enter the race, we’ve been working hard to get our message out to our neighbors in the district,” the House District 61 Democrat said in a statement. “To have so many people volunteer their time to walk with me and take petitions to their neighbors, church members, family and friends is reflective of the beautiful spirit of togetherness that makes our community great. I’m honored to have the support of so many people, at home and around the state.”

Narain was the last candidate to enter the race in mid-March and says almost 1900 people signed petitions in support of his candidacy.

Narain has become the front-runner in the race to succeed the term-limited Arthenia Joyner in the SD 19 seat. He’s running against former state Rep. Betty Reed and current House District 70 Rep. Darryl Rouson, who is term-limited out of his seat this fall.

None of the candidates have filed their fundraising reports for May, but at the end of April, Narain was dominating the field with more than $119,000 raised. Rouson had raised $51,650, and Reed had taken in $23,316.

Republican John Houman entered the race last month.  SD 19 encompasses parts of Hillsborough and Pinellas counties, and is considered extremely Democratic-leaning.

Mitch Perry

Mitch Perry has been a reporter with Extensive Enterprises since November of 2014. Previously, he served five years as political editor of the alternative newsweekly Creative Loafing. Mitch also was assistant news director with WMNF 88.5 FM in Tampa from 2000-2009, and currently hosts MidPoint, a weekly talk show, on WMNF on Thursday afternoons. He began his reporting career at KPFA radio in Berkeley and is a San Francisco native who has lived in Tampa since 2000. Mitch can be reached at [email protected]


Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch @PeterSchorschFL

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Renzo Downey, Roseanne Dunkelberger, A.G. Gancarski, Anne Geggis, Kelly Hayes, Joe Henderson, Ryan Nicol, Jacob Ogles, Scott Powers, Gray Rohrer, Aimee Sachs, Jesse Scheckner, Christine Sexton, Andrew Wilson, Wes Wolfe, and Mike Wright.

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @PeterSchorschFL
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704

Sign up for Sunburn