Orlando City Soccer license plate clears another committee


A proposal to create a specialty license plate commemorating Orlando City Soccer was approved Monday by the Florida House Transportation and Tourism Appropriations Subcommittee.

The proposal, approved last week by the Florida House Transportation and Infrastructure Subcommittee 11-0, means HB 1263 now has cleared two key panels and still has the House Government Accountability Committee ahead of it.

State Rep. Mike La Rosa, a St. Cloud Republican, explained the bill Monday in the absence of the bill’s sponsor, state Rep. Mike Miller, a Winter Park Republican, noting that the Orlando City Soccer Club is the only major professional sports team in Florida that does not yet have a commemorative license plate for its fans. Proceeds from a $25 surcharge for the plate would go to the Florida Sports Foundation, which uses the money to work with youth in Orlando around the stadium.

The panel voted 9-1 to support the bill, with state Rep. Halsey Beshears, the Monticello Republican, voting against it because, he said, he was bothered by the idea of yet another specialty license plate.

Scott Powers

Scott Powers is an Orlando-based political journalist with 30+ years’ experience, mostly at newspapers such as the Orlando Sentinel and the Columbus Dispatch. He covers local, state and federal politics and space news across much of Central Florida. His career earned numerous journalism awards for stories ranging from the Space Shuttle Columbia disaster to presidential elections to misplaced nuclear waste. He and his wife Connie have three grown children. Besides them, he’s into mystery and suspense books and movies, rock, blues, basketball, baseball, writing unpublished novels, and being amused. Email him at [email protected].


Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch @PeterSchorschFL

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Drew Dixon, Roseanne Dunkelberger, A.G. Gancarski, Anne Geggis, Ryan Nicol, Jacob Ogles, Cole Pepper, Gray Rohrer, Jesse Scheckner, Christine Sexton, Drew Wilson, and Mike Wright.

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @PeterSchorschFL
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704