MaryLynn Magar announces Jupiter re-election fundraiser

MaryLynn Magar

Tequesta Republican Rep. MaryLynn Magar will be in Jupiter Thursday evening for a fundraiser benefitting her House District 82 re-election bid.

The “Rally for Victory” will run from 5:30 pm to 7 pm at the offices of beer distributor J.J. Taylor Companies, 655 North A1A. RSVPs can be emailed to Katie Ballard via [email protected].

Magar is running for her fourth and final term representing the South Florida district. She is currently running against Judson Cooper Epperly, the global director of international recruitment for Kaplan Medical, in the Republican Primary.

Through March, Magar had raised nearly $96,000 for her campaign and had more than $80,000 banked. Epperly’s campaign has shown few signs of life, fundraising wise, since he filed in late June. He has $23 in the bank.

HD 82 covers nearly all of Martin County and a chunk of northwestern Palm Beach County. It includes the communities of Hobe Sound, Indiantown, Jupiter, Limestone Creek, Port Salerno and Tequesta.

The district is reliably Republican. When Magar left the Martin County Commission to run for HD 82 in 2012, she cruised to a 10-point win in the Republican Primary getting near 100 percent of the vote against a write-in on Election Day.

In 2014 and 2016, she took more than 60 percent of the vote in back-to-back contests against Democrat Mary Higgins.

The fundraiser invite is below.

MaryLynn Magar fundraiser 4.26.2018

Drew Wilson

Drew Wilson covers legislative campaigns and fundraising for Florida Politics. He is a former editor at The Independent Florida Alligator and business correspondent at The Hollywood Reporter. Wilson, a University of Florida alumnus, covered the state economy and Legislature for LobbyTools and The Florida Current prior to joining Florida Politics.


Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch @PeterSchorschFL

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Drew Dixon, Roseanne Dunkelberger, A.G. Gancarski, Anne Geggis, Ryan Nicol, Jacob Ogles, Cole Pepper, Gray Rohrer, Jesse Scheckner, Christine Sexton, Drew Wilson, and Mike Wright.

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @PeterSchorschFL
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704